



MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

SUBJECT: Major Actions and Approvals at the December 5-6, 2007 Meeting

This memorandum will be made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board) public Web site. A comprehensive set of Board-approved Plenary Open Session meeting minutes will be posted on the Board's public Web site following the February 2008 meeting of the Board.

Major actions and approvals at the 401st meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- 1. The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (NSB-07-120) for the October 2007 meeting (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2007/1002/minutes.pdf.) Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed and Closed Sessions for the October 2007 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 2. The Board approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming February 6-7, 2007 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; future budgets; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0206/closing.pdf).
- 3. The Board authorized the Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Associated Universities, Inc., for operation of the Atacama Large Millimeter Array (ALMA).
- 4. The Board authorized the Deputy Director, at her discretion, to make an award to the University of Arizona for "The iPlant Collaborative: A Cyberinfrastructure-Centered Community for a New Plant Biology."
- 5. The Board authorized the Director, at his discretion, to make an award to the National Ecological Observatory, Inc. for "Organizational and Project Management Support to Complete the NEON Construction-Ready Design and Project Execution Plan."
- 6. The Board approved the draft report, *International Science and Engineering Partnerships: A Priority for U.S. Foreign Policy and Our Nation's Innovative Enterprise* (NSB-07-10), subject to minor edits approved by the Chairman of the Board and the chairman of the Task Force on International Science.

- 7. The Board approved a report, Research and Development: Essential Foundation for U.S. Competitiveness in a Global Economy, A Companion to Science and Engineering Indicators 2008, which will be released in 2008.
- 8. The Board Chairman appointed the Committee on Programs and Plans, Task Force on Sustainable Energy members: Drs. Mark Abbott, John Bruer, Camilla Benbow, Patricia Galloway, José-Marie Griffiths, Elizabeth Hoffman, Douglas Randall, and Mr. Arthur Reilly. Co-chairmen of the task force are Drs. Dan Arvizu and Jon Strauss.
- 9. The Board Chairman appointed the Committee on Strategy and Budget, Task Force on Cost Sharing chairman, Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, and members, Drs. Mark Abbott, Camilla Benbow, Daniel Hastings, Jon Strauss, Thomas Taylor, Richard Thompson, and Jo Anne Vasquez.
- 10. The Board Chairman discharged the Committee on Programs and Plans, Task Force on Transformative Research with thanks to Dr. Douglas Randall, chairman, as well as Dr. Nina Fedoroff, former chairman, and Drs. Mark Abbott, John Bruer, Kelvin Droegemeier, Kenneth Ford, Daniel Hastings, Karl Hess, Louis Lanzerotti, and Alan Leshner.
- 11. The Board Chairman announced that the Board approved the transmittal letter and management response for the NSF Office of Inspector General's *Semiannual Report to Congress, September 2007* by notational vote during November 2007.

Michael P. Crosby Executive Officer