Mr. Howard Bergendahl Vice President - Nuclear, Davis-Besse FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station 5501 North State Route 2 Oak Harbor, OH 43449-9760

Dear Mr. Bergendahl:

This letter confirms the discussion between members of our staffs to have a meeting regarding NRC implementation of IMC 0350, "Oversight of Operating Reactor Facilities in a Shutdown Condition With Performance Problems" at the Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station. The purpose of the meeting will be to discuss implementation of the NRC Oversight Panel to evaluate NRC activities and assess Davis-Besse performance during shutdown and restart activities. The members of the Oversight Panel will also be introduced.

The meeting will be held at the Oak Harbor Junior High School, 315 Church Street, Oak Harbor, OH on Thursday, May 9, at 7:00 p.m. This meeting is open to the public.

Please contact Ms. Christine Lipa at (630)829-9619 if you have any questions regarding this meeting.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Christine A. Lipa, Chief Branch 4 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket No. 50-346 License No. NPF-3

See Attached Distribution

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\Davis-Besse 0350\mtgnotice0590.wpd

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box:"C" = Copy without enclosure "E" = Copy with enclosure "N" = No copy

OFFICE	RIII		RIII			
NAME	LCollins:dtp		CLipa			
DATE	05/03/02		05/03/02			

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

B. Saunders, President - FENOC CC: Plant Manager Manager - Regulatory Affairs M. O'Reilly, FirstEnergy State Liaison Officer, State of Ohio R. Owen, Ohio Department of Health Ohio Public Utilities Commission C. Emahiser, Ottawa County Sheriff J. P. Greer, Director, Emergency Management Agency S. Isenberg, President, Lucas County **Board of Commissioners** J. Telb, Lucas County Sheriff B. Halsey, Director, Emergency Management Agency G. Adams, Village Administrator, Genoa The Honorable Robert Purney The Honorable Lowell C. Krumnow The Honorable Joseph Verkin The Honorable Thomas Leaser The Honorable Jack Ford The Honorable Thomas Brown C. Koebel, President, Ottawa County **Board of Commissioners**

The Honorable Joe Ihnat

INPO

ADAMS Distribution:

AJM

DFT

H. Nieh, OEDO

Project Director, NRR
Project Mgr., NRR

RidsNrrDipmlipb

J. Caldwell, RIII

G. Grant, RIII
B. Clayton, RIII
R. Lickus, RIII

SRI Davis-Besse

DRPIII

DRSIII

PLB1

JRK1