## Acknowledgments

The following individuals served as the managing editors for this publication:

**Linda Block,** MPH, Office on Smoking and Health, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

**Karen Gutierrez**, Office on Smoking and Health, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

The following individuals are the primary authors of this publication:

Elaine Arkin, Health Communications Consultant Joan Clayton-Davis, MA, Academy for Educational Development Susan Middlestadt, Ph.D., Academy for Educational Development Peter Mitchell, Academy for Educational Development Anne Marie O'Keefe, Ph.D., JD, Academy for Educational Development Todd Phillips, MS, Academy for Educational Development Rose Mary Romano, MA, Academy for Educational Development Phil Wilbur, MA, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions

We thank the following individuals from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, for assistance in reviewing and contributing to this document:

Cheri Ahern, Office on Smoking and Health Stephen Babb, MPH, Office on Smoking and Health Diane Beistle, Office on Smoking and Health Galen Cole, Ph.D., Office of Communication Alyssa Easton, Ph.D., MPH, Office on Smoking and Health Monica Eischen, Office on Smoking and Health Reba Griffith, MPH, Office on Smoking and Health May Kennedy, MPH, Office of Communication Sharon Kohout, MA, Office on Smoking and Health Dianne May, MA, MPH, Office on Smoking and Health Jeff McKenna, MS, Office on Smoking and Health Patty McLean, M.Ed., Office on Smoking and Health Rebecca Murphy, Ph.D., Office on Smoking and Health Claudia Parvanta, Ph.D., Office of Communication Alpa Patel-Larson, Office on Smoking and Health Linda Pederson, Ph.D., Office on Smoking and Health Lisa Petersen, MS, Office on Smoking and Health Oona Powell, MA, Office on Smoking and Health Chris Prue, MSPH, Ph.D., Office of Communication Robert Robinson, Dr.P.H., Office on Smoking and Health Michael Schooley, MPH, Office on Smoking and Health

The Office on Smoking and Health thanks the following individuals for their careful review of drafts of this manual:

**Debra Bodenstine,** Florida Department of Health Deborah E. Boldt, MPA, Missouri Partnership on Smoking or Health Nicole Boyd, JD, The Partnership for a Healthy Mississippi Greg Connolly, DMD, MPH, Massachusetts Department of Public Health Larry Davis, Global Lead Management Consulting Peter DeBenedittis, Ph.D., New Mexico Media Literacy Project Robert Denniston, MA, Office of National Drug Control Policy Mark Dinneen, Alaska Department of Health Susan Giarratano Russell, EdD, MSPH, CHES, Health Education and Media Consultant Sandi Hammond, Massachusetts Department of Public Health Ann Houston, CHES, North Carolina Department of Health Lucy Huang, IW Group, Inc. Mary Jane Mahan, MA, DeKalb County Board of Health **Danny McGoldrick,** MA, Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids Barbara A. Moeykens, MS, Vermont Department of Health Mike Pertschuk, JD, Advocacy Institute Monica Pribil, MA, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services

Amelie Ramirez, Dr.P.H., Baylor College of Medicine Janet Reid, Ph.D., Global Lead Management Consulting Schaelene Rollins, California Department of Health Services Russell Sciandra, MA, Center for a Tobacco Free New York David Sly, MS, Ph.D., Florida State University William D. Snook, MS Ed., Missouri Health Department Colleen Stevens, MSW, California Department of Health Services Makani Themba-Nixon, The Praxis Project Chuck Wolfe, Wolfe Strategies

David Zucker, Porter Novelli

The Office on Smoking and Health thanks the following individuals for support in producing this manual:

**Daria Bessom,** Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Adjoa Burrowes, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Sheila E. Coble, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Vivian Doidge, MA, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions **Dee Ellison,** MS, Academy for Educational Development Maxine Forrest, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Catherine Macapugay, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Anne Mattison, MA, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Jennifer Mike, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Eloisa Montes, MA, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions **Don Mullins,** MPH, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Melissa Ratherdale, MA, Academy for Educational Development Susan Rogers, Ph.D., Academy for Educational Development **Rebecca Rosenthal,** Academy for Educational Development Jeff Roussel, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions Laura Simon, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions **Pam Sutton,** Academy for Educational Development **Carol Winner,** MPH, Northrop Grumman IT Health and Science Solutions