Relay Service (FIRS) at 1–800–877–8339.

[FR Doc. 00–3328 Filed 2–11–00; 8:45 am]

#### **DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION**

### National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity; Notice of Members

**AGENCY:** National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity, Department of Education.

#### What Is the Purpose of This Notice?

The purpose of this notice is to list the members of the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (National Advisory Committee) and to give the public the opportunity to nominate candidates for the positions to be vacated by those members whose terms will expire on September 30, 2000. This notice is required under Section 114(c) of the Higher Education Act (HEA), as amended by Public Law 105–244.

## What Is the Role of the National Advisory Committee?

The National Advisory Committee is established under Section 114 of the HEA, as amended, and is composed of 15 members appointed by the Secretary of Education from among individuals who are representatives of, or knowledgeable concerning, education and training beyond secondary education, including representatives of all sectors and type of institutions of higher education.

The National Advisory Committee meets at least twice a year and provides recommendations to the Secretary of Education pertaining to:

- The establishment and enforcement of criteria for recognition of accrediting agencies or associations under subpart 2 of part H of Title IV, HEA.
- The recognition of specific accrediting agencies or associations.
- The preparation and publication of the list of nationally recognized accrediting agencies and associations.

As the Committee deems necessary or on request, the Committee also advises the Secretary about:

- The eligibility and certification process for institutions of higher education under Title IV, HEA.
- The development of standards and criteria for specific categories of vocational training institutions and institutions of higher education for which there are no recognized accrediting agencies, associations, or State agencies in order to establish the

interim eligibility of those institutions to participate in Federally funded programs.

- The relationship between: (1) Accreditation of institutions of higher education and the certification and eligibility of such institutions, and (2) State licensing responsibilities with respect to such institutions.
- Any other advisory functions relating to accreditation and institutional eligibility that the Secretary may prescribe.

## What Are the Terms of Office for Committee Members?

The term of office of each member is 3 years, except that any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed is appointed for the remainder of the term. A member may be appointed, at the Secretary's discretion, to serve more than one term.

## Who Are the Current Members of the Committee?

The current members of the National Advisory Committee are:

Members With Terms Expiring 9/30/00

- Dr. David W. Adamany, president emeritus and distinguished professor of law and political science, Wayne State University, Michigan
- Mr. Robert L. Hawkins, superintendent, Colorado Mental Health Institute
- Dr. Tanya L. Pollard, assistant professor, English Department, Macalester College, Minnesota
- Dr. Eleanor P. Vreeland, chairman, Barland, Inc., New York
- Dr. John A. Yena, president, Johnson & Wales University, Rhode Island

Members With Terms Expiring 09/30/01

- Mrs. Wilhelmina R. Delco (committee chairperson), retired member of Texas House of Representatives
- Dr. Alfredo G. de los Santos, Jr., Vice Chancellor Emeritus, Maricopa Community Colleges, Arizona
- Dr. Kenneth B. Orr, president emeritus, Presbyterian College, South Carolina
- Dr. Robert L. Potts, president, University of North Alabama
- Dr. Richard F. Rosser, president of the Presidents' Group, Wisconsin

Members With Terms Expiring 9/30/02

- Mr. Gordon M. Ambach (committee vice chairperson), executive director, Council of Chief State School Officers, Washington, DC
- Dr. Norman Francis, president, Xavier University of Louisiana

- Dr. George A. Pruitt, president, Thomas A. Edison State College, New Jersey
- Dr. Norma S. Rees, president, California State University, Hayward Hon, Thomas P. Salmon, chair of the
- Hon. Thomas P. Salmon, chair of the board, Green Mountain Power Corporation, Vermont

# How Do I Nominate an Individual for Appointment as a Committee Member?

If you would like to nominate an individual for appointment to the Committee, send the following information to the Committee's Executive Director:

- a cover letter that provides your reason(s) for nominating the individual; and
- contact information for the nominee (name, title, business address, and business phone and fax numbers) and a copy of the nominee's resume.

The information must be sent by March 30, 2000 to the following address: Bonnie LeBold, Executive Director, National Advisory Committee, U.S. Department of Education, 7th Floor, Rm. 7107, 1990 K St., NW, Washington, DC 20006.

#### **How Can I Get Additional Information?**

If you have any specific questions about the nomination process or general questions about the National Advisory Committee, please contact Ms. Bonnie LeBold, the Committee's Executive Director, by phone at (202) 219–7009, by fax at (202) 219–7008, or by e-mail at Bonnie\_LeBold@ed.gov between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1011c.

#### A. Lee Fritschler,

Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education.

[FR Doc. 00–3348 Filed 2–11–00; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 4000–01–P

## **DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION**

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education—Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities—National Programs—Federal Activities—Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention Models on College Campuses Grant Competition

**AGENCY:** Department of Education. **ACTION:** Notice of Proposed Priority, Proposed Eligible Applicants, and Proposed Selection Criteria for Fiscal Year (FY) 2000 and Subsequent Years.

**SUMMARY:** The Secretary announces a proposed priority, proposed eligible applicants, and proposed selection criteria for FY 2000 and, at the discretion of the Secretary, for subsequent years under the Safe and