CONFERENCE ON VESSEL HEAD PENETRATION INSPECTION, CRACKING, AND REPAIRS

Sponsored by The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and Argonne National Laboratory

Marriott Washingtonian Center Gaithersburg, MD, USA

Sept. 29 – October 2, 2003

Opening Session

8:30	General Welcome W. H. Cullen, Jr., U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Rockville, MD		
8:45	Arrangements K. Natesan, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL		
8:55	Opening Remarks M. Mayfield, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Rockville, MD		
9:10	Keynote Address A. Thadani, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Rockville, MD		
9:40	Break		
Session I:	Inspection Techniques, Results, and Future Developments (10-12 papers)		
Chairperson	s: Steve Doctor, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Deborah Jackson, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission		
Tuesday, Sej	otember 30, 2003		
Session II:	Continued Plant Operation (10 - 12 papers)		
Chairmen:	Allen Hiser, Jr., US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Warren Bamford, Westinghouse Electric Company, LLC		
Session III:	Mitigation of Nickel-base Alloy Degradation and Foreign Experience (7 - 9 papers)		
Chairmen:	Stephen Fyfitch, Framatome ANP, Peter Scott, Framatome ANP		
6:30	Banquet		
	Banquet Speaker: To Be Determined		
Wednesday,	October 1, 2003		
Session IV:	Crack Growth Rate Studies for the Disposition of Flaws (8 – 10 papers)		
Chairperson	s: Karen Gott, SKI, Sweden Tetsuo Shoji, Tohoku University, Japan		
3:00 – 7:00 k	Kickoff Meeting of International Cooperative Group on PWSCC and NDE of Alloy		

600 - C. E. Moyer, RES/DET/MEB, Chairwoman.

Thursday, Oct. 2, 2003

Session V: Structural Analysis and Fracture Mechanics Issues (6 - 8 papers)

Chairman: Gery Wilkowski, Engineering Mechanics Corporation of Columbus

Session Summaries

1:00	Session I:	S. Doctor and D. Jackson		
1:15	Session II:	K. Gott and T. Shoji		
1:30	Session III:	S. Fyfitch and P. Scott		
1:45	Session IV:	A. Hiser, Jr. and W. Bamford		
2:00	Session V:	G. Wilkowski		
2:15	Break			
2:30	Panel Discus	el Discussion		
Chairpersons:		Christine King, Electric Power Research Institute William H. Cullen, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission		
Panelists:		Brian Sheron, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission		
		Jack Strosnider, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission		
		Alex Marion, Nuclear Energy Institute		
		Larry Mathews, MRP		

Concluding Remarks: W. H. Cullen

Adjourn