BILLS OF LADING

(See under MARITIME **MATTERS**)

BIOLOGICAL WEAPONS

(See also GAS WARFARE)

Convention on the prohibition of the development, production and stockpiling of bacteriological (biological) and toxin weapons and on their destruction. Done at Washington, London and Moscow April 10, 1972; entered into force March 26, 1975.

26 UST 583; TIAS 8062; 1015 UNTS 163.

Parties: Afghanistan Albania Algeria

Antigua and Barbuda

Argentina Armenia Australia Austria 1 Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain 1 Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bhutan

Bolivia Bosnia-Herzegovina

Botswana Brazil Brunei 2 Bulgaria Burkina Faso Cambodia Canada Cape Verde Chile China 3 4 5 Colombia Congo

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Costa Rica Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dominica 2

Dominican Republic

East Timor Ecuador El Salvador Equatorial Guinea

Estonia Ethiopia 6 Fiji Finland France Gambia Georgia

Ghana

German Democratic Republic 7 Germany, Federal Republic of 7

Greece Grenada Guatemala Guinea-Bissau Holy See 4 Honduras Hungary Iceland India 4 Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Italy

Jamaica Japan Jordan Kenya

Korea, Democratic People's Republic of

Korea, Republic of

Kuwait 4 Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Libva Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macedonia Malaysia 1 Maldives Mali Malta Mauritius Mexico

Moldova 1 Monaco Mongolia Morocco Netherlands 8 New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Norway Oman Pakistan Palau

Papua New Guinea

Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Qatar Romania

Panama

Russian Federation Rwanda St. Kitts and Nevis St. Lucia

St. Vincent and the Grenadines San Marino

Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia

Senegal

Sierra Leone Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia

Seychelles

Solomon Islands 2 South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland 4 Thailand Togo Tonga Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics 9

United Kingdom 10 United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela

Uganda

Ukraine

Vietnam, Socialist Republic of

Yemen (Aden) 11 Yugoslavia 12 Zimbabwe

NOTES:

¹ With reservation.

² See under country heading in Section 1 for information concerning acceptance of treaty obligations.

³The Taiwan authorities have also adhered to this convention. See note under CHINA (TAIWAN) in Section 1.

⁴ With statement.

⁵ Applicable to Hong Kong and Macao. See note under CHINA in Section 1.

⁶ See note under ETHIOPIA in Section 1.

⁷See note under GERMANY, FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF in Section 1.

⁸ Applicable to Netherlands Antilles and

⁹See note under UNION OF SOVIET SOCIALIST REPUBLICS in Section 1.

10 Extended to territories under the territorial sovereignty of the United Kingdom. Also extended to New Hebrides; continued application to Vanuatu not determined.

¹¹ See note under YEMEN in Section 1.

12 See note under YUGOSLAVIA in Section 1.

BRIBERY

Convention on combating bribery of foreign public officials in international business transactions, with annex. Done at Paris December 17, 1997; entered into force February 15, 1999.

TIAS Parties: Argentina Australia Austria Belgium

Portugal BRIBERY (Cont'd)

Germany Greece Slovak Republic Slovenia Hungary Iceland Spain Ireland Sweden Italy Japan Switzerland

NOTE:

Canada Turkey United Kingdom Korea Chile Luxembourg Czech Republic United States Mexico Netherlands Denmark

Estonia * New Zealand

Brazil

Bulgaria

Finland Norway *Enters into force for Estonia January 22, France Poland