no

GASSO SEA

AR



UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF STATE

PERFORMANCE AND ACCOUNTABILITY REPORT FISCAL YEAR 2003



Association of Government Accountants (AGA)

CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE IN ACCOUNTABILITY REPORTING



In recognition of your outstanding efforts in preparing the Department of State Performance and Accountability Report for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2002. League of American Communications Professionals (LACP)

PLATINUM 2002 VISION AWARD

In recognition of your outstanding efforts in preparing the Department of State Digest for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2002. Placing 1st in the Government Classification and 4th out of over 900 entries.



ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

his Performance and Accountability Report was produced with the energies and talents of Department staff in Washington, D.C., and our offices and posts around the world. To these dedicated individuals we would like to offer our sincerest thanks and acknowledgement.

In particular, we would like to recognize the following individuals for their contributions:

Nancy Babe, Kristin Byorick, Barbara Clark, Spring George, Carol Gower, Stephanie Holmes, Don Hunter, Ayana Jackson, Rick Keller, Matthew Johnson, Irwin Mazin, Cathy Roberts, Jerry Sharp and Van Tran.

Bruce Crippin, Malcolm Lawrence, Richard Sassoon and John Spears.

Ken Alms, John Bargeron, Marlene Baxter, Melanie Bixby, Monica Bradley, Jan Brambilla, Patty Cake, Deryck Chase, Paul Claussen, Kelly Clements, Nerissa Cook, Lynne Davidson, John Dudley, Benedict J. Duffy, Eric Falls, Jonathan Farrar, Brenda Ferry, Joel Fischman, Michael Foughty, Ron Gain, Nicole Green, Ellyn Hagy, Laura Hall, Janie Hatcher, Susan Holly, Jeffrey Jamison, Horace Johnson, Hattie Jones, Bernadette Kilroy, Ted Kniker, Eliza Koch, Paula Lader, Duke Locca, Carol MacCurdy, Tracy Mahaffey, Stephanie Miley, Karen Mummaw, Tarik Obeidi, Wayne Oshima, Daniel Pappas, Pat Patierno, Diane Perry-Elby, Tammy Pomerleau, Susan Poulin, Lela Prophet, Wilna Ray, Janet Redfern, Catherine Russell, Sylvester Ryan, Daniel Schaub, Eloise Shouse, Susan Sikes, Karen Simpson, David G. Smith, Elizabeth Soyster, Larry Sperling, Paul Sutphin, Rob Tappan, Lisbeth Thompson, Tom Washburn, Karl Wycoff and Jamie Young.

Anthony Belliotti, Janet Brooks, Alvin Brown, Anne Cook, Cee Cee Cooper, Nancy Durham, Cheryl Easley, Lorna Kivlehan, Brian McCauley, Howard Renman, Lynette Richardson, Neila Sheahan, Frank Sullivan, Wardell Wanza and Cameron Weber.

We would also like to acknowledge the Office of Inspector General and Leonard G. Birnbaum and Company, LLP for the professional manner in which they conducted the audit of the Fiscal Year 2003 Financial Statements.

We offer our special thanks to The DesignPond, in particular Michael James and Sheri Beauregard, for their outstanding contributions to the design of this Report.



UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF STATE

0

2201 C Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20520 (202) 647-4000

www.state.gov