Click here to skip navigation
OPM.gov Home  |  Subject Index  |  Important Links  |  Contact Us  |  Help

U.S. Office of Personnel Management - Ensuring the Federal Government has an effective civilian workforce

Advanced Search

Insurance Services Programs

Federal Employee Health Benefit Program

70-2in For United States Postal Inspectors and Office of Inspector General Employees


Program Features

  • No Waiting Periods. You can use your benefits as soon as your coverage becomes effective. There are no pre-existing condition limitations even if you change plans.

  • A Choice of Coverage. Choose between Self Only or Self and Family.

  • A Choice of Plans and Options. Select from Fee-for-Service (with the option of a Preferred Provider Organization), Health Maintenance Organization, Point-of-Service plans, Consumer-Driven plans, or High Deductible Health Plans.

  • A Government Contribution. The USPS pays 85 percent of the average premium toward the total cost of your premium, up to a maximum of 88.75 percent of the total premium for any plan.

  • Salary Deduction. You pay your share of the premium through a payroll deduction and have the choice of doing so using pre-tax dollars. When your premium contributions are withheld on a pre-tax basis, certain Internal Revenue Service guidelines affect your ability to change coverage. You may elect to cancel your FEHB enrollment, or to go from Self and Family to Self Only coverage, only during an FEHB Open Season, unless a qualified life status change occurs. See your Human Resources office for details.

  • Annual Enrollment Opportunity. Each year you can enroll or change your health plan enrollment. This year the Open Season runs from November 14, 2005, through December 13, 2005. Other events allow for certain types of changes throughout the year. See your Human Resources office for details.

  • Continued Group Coverage. Eligibility for you or your family members may continue following your retirement, divorce, death, or changes in employment status. See your Human Resources office for more information.

  • Coverage after FEHB Ends. You or your family members may be eligible for temporary continuation of FEHB coverage or for conversion to non-group (private) coverage when FEHB coverage ends or while awaiting approval by OPM for an application for Spouse Equity. See your Human Resources office for more information.

  • Consumer Protections. Go to www.opm.gov/insure/health/consumers to: see your appeal rights to OPM if you and your plan have a dispute over a claim; read the Patients┬í┬» Bill of Rights and the FEHB Program and; learn about your privacy protections when it comes to your medical information.


Table of Contents