March 14, 2003, the President declared a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State of Ohio, resulting from a severe winter storm and record/near record snow on February 14, 2003, and continuing, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act). I, therefore, declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Ohio.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance in the designated areas, all categories of Public Assistance in the designated areas, emergency assistance (emergency protective measures, Category B under the Public Assistance program) for a period of 48 hours in the designated areas, and Hazard Mitigation throughout the State. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance, Hazard Mitigation, and the Other Needs Assistance under section 408 of the Stafford Act will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility and Public Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a period not to exceed six months after the date of this declaration.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Acting Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, under Executive Order 12148, as amended by Executive Order 13286, Ron Sherman of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of Ohio to have been affected adversely by this declared major disaster:

Adams, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, and Scioto Counties for Individual Assistance. Adams, Gallia, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Pike, Scioto, and Vinton Counties for Public Assistance. Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Guernsey, Madison, Monroe, and Muskingum Counties for emergency protective measures (Category B) under the Public Assistance program for a period of 48 hours.

All counties within the State of Ohio are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.556, Fire Management Assistance; 83.558, Individual and Household Housing; 83.559, Individual and Household Disaster Housing Operations; 83.560, Individual and Household Program—Other Needs; 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

Michael D. Brown,

Acting Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response. [FR Doc. 03–7984 Filed 4–1–03; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 6718–02–P

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-3180-EM]

Pennsylvania; Emergency and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Homeland Security.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of an emergency for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (FEMA–3180–EM), dated March 14, 2003, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: March 14, 2003.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated March 14, 2003, the President declared an emergency under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the impact in certain areas of the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, resulting from the record/near record snow on February 14–19, 2003, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant an emergency declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (Stafford Act). I, therefore, declare that such an emergency exists in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide emergency protective measures under the Public Assistance program to save lives, protect public health and safety, and property. Other forms of assistance under Title V of the Stafford Act may be added at a later date, as you deem appropriate. You are further authorized to provide this emergency assistance in the affected areas for a period of 48 hours. You may extend the period of assistance, as warranted. This assistance excludes regular time costs for sub-grantees' regular employees. Assistance under this emergency is authorized at 75 percent Federal funding for eligible costs.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Acting Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, under Executive Order 12148, as amended by Executive Order 13286, Thomas Davies of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared emergency.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania to have been affected adversely by this declared emergency:

Adams, Bedford, Berks, Blair, Cambria, Chester, Clinton, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Lycoming, Montour, Montgomery, Northampton, Perry, Philadelphia, Schuylkill, Somerset, Union, Westmoreland, and York Counties for emergency protective measures (Category B) under the Public Assistance program for a period of 48 hours.

(Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance No. 83.516, Disaster Assistance)

Michael D. Brown,

Acting Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response. [FR Doc. 03–7991 Filed 4–1–03; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 6718-02-P