*Place:* Churchill Hotel, 1914 Connecticut Avenue, NW., Washington, DC 20009.

Contact Person: Carl D. Banner, PhD, Scientific Review Administrator, Center for Scientific Review, National Institutes of Health, 6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 5212, MSC 7850, Bethesda, MD 20892, (301) 435– 1251, bannerc@drg.nih.gov.

Name of Committee: Center for Scientific Review Special Emphasis Panel, Aging, Neuroimaging and Cognition.

Date: June 5, 2003.

Time: 12 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Agenda: To review and evaluate grant applications.

Place: National Institutes of Health, 6701 Rockledge Drive, Bethesda, MD 20892, (Telephone Conference Call).

Contact Person: Dana Plude, PhD, Scientific Review Administrator, Center for Scientific Review, National Institutes of Health, 6701 Rockledge Drive, Bethesda, MD 20892, (301) 435–1856, pluded@csr.nih.gov.

(Catalogue of Federal Domestic Assistance Program Nos. 93.306, Comparative Medicine; 93.333, Clinical Research, 93.306; 93.333, 93.337, 93.393–93.396, 93.837–93.844, 93.846–93.878, 93.892, 93.893, National Institutes of Health, HHS)

Dated: May 13, 2003.

#### LaVerne Y. Stringfield,

Director, Office of Federal Advisory Committee Policy.

[FR Doc. 03-12660 Filed 5-19-03; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 4140-01-M

## DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

## Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1466-DR]

#### Alabama; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, Department of Homeland Security.

**ACTION:** Notice.

**SUMMARY:** This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major disaster for the State of Alabama (FEMA–1466-DR), dated May 12, 2003, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: May 12, 2003.

### FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705.

**SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:** Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated May 12, 2003, the President declared a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State of Alabama, resulting from severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding on May 5, 2003, and continuing, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act). I, therefore, declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Alabama.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance and Public Assistance in the designated areas, and Hazard Mitigation throughout the State. Direct Federal Assistance is authorized. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance, direct Federal assistance, Hazard Mitigation, and the Other Needs Assistance under section 408 of the Stafford Act will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility and Public Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a period not to exceed six months after the date of this declaration.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, Gracia Szczech, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of Alabama to have been affected adversely by this declared major disaster:

Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Marshall, Morgan, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa, and Walker Counties for Individual Assistance.

DeKalb, Jackson, Limestone, and Madison Counties for Public Assistance.

All counties within the State of Alabama are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.556, Fire Management Assistance; 83.558, Individual and Household Housing; 83.559, Individual and Household Disaster Housing Operations; 83.560, Individual and Household Program-Other Needs; 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

#### Michael D. Brown,

*Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response.* 

[FR Doc. 03–12587 Filed 5–19–03; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 6718–02–P

### DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

# Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1466-DR]

Alabama; Amendment No. 1 to Notice of a Major Disaster Declaration

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, Department of Homeland Security.

**ACTION:** Notice.

**SUMMARY:** This notice amends the notice of a major disaster declaration for the State of Alabama, (FEMA-1466-DR), dated May 12, 2003, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: May 13, 2003.

### FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705.

**SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:** The notice of a major disaster declaration for the State of Alabama is hereby amended to include the following areas among those areas determined to have been adversely affected by the catastrophe declared a major disaster by the President in his declaration of May 12, 2003:

Barbour, Bullock, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Macon, Randolph, Russell, and Tallapoosa Counties for Individual Assistance.

Limestone County for Individual Assistance (already designated for Public Assistance). Jefferson, Marshall, St. Clair, and Talladega Counties for Public Assistance (already designated for Individual Assistance).

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.556, Fire Management Assistance; 83.558, Individual and Household Housing; 83.559, Individual and Household Disaster Housing Operations; 83.560, Individual and Household Program-