DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1490-DR]

North Carolina; Amendment No. 2 to Notice of a Major Disaster Declaration

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, Department of Homeland Security.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: This notice amends the notice of a major disaster for the State of North Carolina (FEMA–1490–DR), dated September 18, 2003, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: September 26, 2003. **FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:**

Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that the incident period for this disaster is closed effective September 26, 2003.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.556, Fire Management Assistance; 83.558, Individual and Household Housing; 83.559, Individual and Household Disaster Housing Operations; 83.560, Individual and Household Program-Other Needs, 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

Michael D. Brown,

Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security.

[FR Doc. 03–25357 Filed 10–6–03; 8:45 am] **BILLING CODE 6718–02–P**

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-3187-EM]

Ohio; Emergency and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, Department of Homeland Security.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of an emergency for the State of Ohio (FEMA–3187-EM), dated September 23, 2003, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: September 23, 2003. **FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:** Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency,

Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705. SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated September 23, 2003, the President declared an emergency declaration under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the emergency conditions in certain areas of the State of Ohio, resulting from a severe, statewide power outage on August 14–17, 2003, are of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant an emergency declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121–5206 (Stafford Act). I, therefore, declare that such an emergency exists in the State of Ohio.

You are authorized to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act to save lives, protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in the designated areas. Specifically, you are authorized to provide emergency protective measures (Category B) under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent Federal funding. This assistance excludes regular time costs for subgrantees' regular employees. In addition, you are authorized to provide such other forms of assistance under Title V of the Stafford Act as you may deem appropriate.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses. However, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 5193 (b) (1), Federal assistance under this declaration will not exceed \$5 million.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, Ron Sherman, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared emergency.

I do hereby determine the following area of the State of Ohio to have been affected adversely by this declared emergency:

Cuyahoga County for emergency protective measures (Category B) under the Public Assistance program. The following (The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.556, Fire Management Assistance; 83.558, Individual and Household Housing; 83.559, Individual and Household Disaster Housing Operations; 83.560 Individual and Household Program-Other Needs, 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

Michael D. Brown,

Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security.

[FR Doc. 03–25350 Filed 10–6–03; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 6718–02–P

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1491-DR]

Virginia; Amendment No. 3 to Notice of a Major Disaster Declaration

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, Department of Homeland Security.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: This notice amends the notice of a major disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of Virginia (FEMA–1491–DR), dated September 18, 2003, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: September 22, 2003. **FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:**

Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The notice of a major disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of Virginia is hereby amended to include the following areas among those areas determined to have been adversely affected by the catastrophe declared a major disaster by the President in his declaration of September 18, 2003:

The Independent Cities of Bedford, Buena Vista, Charlottesville, Fredericksburg, Harrisonburg, Lynchburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester, and the counties of Albemarle, Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, Clarke, Culpeper, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Fauquier, Frederick, Greene, Halifax, Hanover, King George, King William, King and Queen, Louisa, Loudoun, Lunenburg, Madison, Nelson, New Kent, Nottoway, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince