Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance; 97.048, Individual and Household Housing; 97.049, Individual and Household Disaster Housing Operations; 97.050 Individual and Household Program-Other Needs, 97.036, Public Assistance Grants; 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program)

#### Michael D. Brown,

Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security.

[FR Doc. 04–14424 Filed 6–24–04; 8:45 am] **BILLING CODE 9110–10–P** 

## DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

# Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1518-DR]

Iowa; Amendment No. 4 to Notice of a Major Disaster Declaration

AGENCY: Federal Emergency
Management Agency, Emergency
Preparedness and Response Directorate,
Department of Homeland Security
ACTION: Notice.

**SUMMARY:** This notice amends the notice of a major disaster declaration for the State of Iowa (FEMA–1518–DR), dated May 25, 2004, and related determinations.

DATES: Effective Date: June 14, 2004. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705.

**SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:** The notice of a major disaster declaration for the State of Iowa is hereby amended to include the following areas among those areas determined to have been adversely affected by the catastrophe declared a major disaster by the President in his declaration of May 25, 2004:

Carroll, Mills, and Page Counties for Individual Assistance.

Fremont County for Individual Assistance (already designated for Public Assistance.) Dubuque, Webster, and Wright Counties for Public Assistance (already designated for Individual Assistance.)

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund Program; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services Program; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance; 97.048, Individual and Household Housing; 97.049, Individual and Household Disaster Housing Operations; 97.050 Individual and Household Program-Other Needs, 97.036, Public Assistance

Grants; 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

#### Michael D. Brown,

Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security.

[FR Doc. 04–14422 Filed 6–24–04; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 9110–10–P

# DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

#### Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1523-DR]

### Kentucky; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency
Management Agency, Emergency
Preparedness and Response Directorate,
Department of Homeland Security.
ACTION: Notice.

**SUMMARY:** This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major disaster for the Commonwealth of Kentucky (FEMA–1523–DR), dated June 10, 2004, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: June 10, 2004.

### FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705. **SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:** Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated June 10, 2004, the President declared a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, resulting from severe storms, tornadoes, flooding, and mudslides beginning on May 26, 2004, and continuing, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act). I, therefore, declare that such a major disaster exists in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance and Public Assistance in the designated areas, and Hazard Mitigation throughout the Commonwealth. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance, Hazard Mitigation, and the Other Needs Assistance under Section 408 of the Stafford Act will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility and Public Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a period not to exceed six months after the date of this declaration.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, Michael E. Bolch, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the Commonwealth of Kentucky to have been affected adversely by this declared major disaster:

Bell, Bourbon, Boyle, Breathitt,
Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell,
Carroll, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay,
Crittenden, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fayette,
Floyd, Franklin, Garrard, Grayson, Hardin,
Harlan, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hopkins,
Jefferson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox,
Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Fletcher,
Lincoln, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, McLean,
Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Muhlenberg,
Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Perry, Pike,
Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Scott,
Shelby, Spencer, Trimble, Union, Webster,
Whitley, Wolfe, and Woodford Counties for
Individual Assistance.

Clay, Daviess, Floyd, Grayson, Henry, Johnson, Knox, Leslie, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Oldham, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, and Webster Counties for Public Assistance.

All counties within the Commonwealth of Kentucky are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund Program; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services Program; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance; 97.048, Individual and Household Housing; 97.049, Individual and Household Disaster Housing Operations; 97.050 Individual and Household Program-Other Needs, 97.036, Public Assistance Grants; 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

### Michael D. Brown,

Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security.

[FR Doc. 04–14426 Filed 6–24–04; 8:45 am] **BILLING CODE 9110–10–P**