Environmental Management Site Specific Advisory Board

Fernald Hanford Idaho

Nevada **Northern New Mexico** Oak Ridge

Paducah Rocky Flats Savannah River

June 22, 2005

The Honorable Samuel W. Bodman Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy Forrestal Building 1000 Independence Avenue S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

Dear Secretary Bodman:

The Department of Energy established the Environmental Management Site Specific Advisory Board (EM SSAB) in 1994 to provide advice and recommendations related to the cleanup of its sites. Collectively, the individual site Boards have developed hundreds of recommendations that have saved the Department millions of dollars. Jointly, the EM SSAB members have sponsored national meetings and workshops that focused public participation and improved the decision-making process. These efforts have helped increase the Department's credibility with the public.

Beginning in FY06, various sites represented on the EM SSABs will be transferred from Environmental Management (EM) to other offices or agencies within DOE. We believe these transfers could fragment our ability to address common core issues and site interdependencies. We view the current EM SSABs as a proven model of effective public participation that must be preserved.

Therefore, the EM SSABs recommends the following:

- 1) The Secretary of Energy should direct the offices and agencies where former Environmental Management sites will be transferred to develop policies establishing local advisory boards and other public participation opportunities similar to those that currently exist within EM.
- The Department of Energy should develop a mechanism whereby the local advisory boards, regardless of their affiliation within DOE, can continue to meet in a national setting to discuss issues of common concern and to share lessons learned.

We appreciate your consideration and look forward to your written response.

Sincerely,

James C. Bierer, Chair

Fernald Citizens Advisory Board

Charles A. Phillips, Chair, Community Advisory Board for Nevada Test Site Programs

Todd Martin, Chair

Hanford Advisory Board

Timothy A. DeLong, Chair

Charles C. Phillips

Northern New Mexico Citizens Advisory Board

David Kipping, Chair, Idaho National Engineering & Environmental Laboratory Citizens Advisory Board

Kerry Trammell, Chair

Oak Ridge Site Specific Advisory Board

Gerald L. DePoorter, Chair Rocky Flats Citizens Advisory Board

Gerald & DeProster

Rhonda A. McCanz

Rhonda McCorry, Chair, Paducah Gaseous

Diffusion Plant Citizens Advisory Board

Jean M. Sulc, Chair

Savannah River Site Citizens Advisory Board