## **Commissioner Greta Joy Dicus**

The Honorable Greta Joy Dicus was appointed Chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission by President Clinton. Commissioner Dicus served her first term from February 15, 1996 until June 30, 1998, and was re-nominated by President Clinton in May 1998, beginning her second term in October 1998. From July 1, 1999 to October 29, 1999, she served as Chairman of the NRC. Her current term expires June 30, 2003. Between her first and second terms, she served as an outside expert to the U.S. Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board.

Commissioner Dicus is a radiation biologist. Before joining the NRC, Ms. Dicus was confirmed by the U.S. Senate as a member of the Board of Directors of the U.S. Enrichment Corporation (USEC). She served on the USEC Board from March 1994 to February 1995. She is also a member of Main Commission of the International Commission for Radiation Protection (ICRP). Her four-year term began July 1, 2001.

Ms. Dicus was Director of Radiation Control and Emergency Management at the Arkansas Department of Health for nine years. She also served as Chairman of the Central Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission, the Advisory Committee on Transportation of Radioactive Materials for the Southern States Energy Board (SSEB), and the SSEB TRU Working Group. Among other appointments, Ms. Dicus has served as the Arkansas Liaison with the NRC, and a member of the Governor's Low-Level Radioactive Waste Advisory Group.

Ms. Dicus conducted research in radiation health effects at Harvard Medical School, Rice University, and the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School.

An Arkansas native, Ms. Dicus was educated in Texas. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in biological sciences from Texas Woman's University where she was honored in 2001 as a Distinguished Alumnae. She earned a Master's Degree in radiation biology from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School.

Ms. Dicus is a member of the Health Physics Society, Sigma Xi, and the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, the American Nuclear Society and Women in Nuclear.