Federal Employee Health Benefit Program

RI 70-14 For Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Employees

Program Features

• No Waiting Periods. You can use your benefits as soon as your coverage becomes effective. There are no pre-existing condition limitations even if you change plans.

• A Choice of Coverage. Choose between Self Only or Self and Family.

• A Choice of Plans and Options. Select from Fee-for-Service (with the option of a Preferred Provider Organization), Health Maintenance Organization, Point-of-Service plans, High Deductible Health Plans or Consumer-Driven plans.

• An Employer Contribution. For 2006, the FDIC will pay 85 percent of the average premium toward the total cost of your premium, but not more that 88.75 percent of the total premium for any individual plan. If you continue FEHB coverage as a retiree, the contribution made on your behalf will be different than an active FDIC employee. The government contribution will be 72 percent of the average premium, but not more than 75 percent of the total premium for any individual plan.

• Salary Deduction. For 2006, all eligible FDIC employees who elect FEHB health plan coverage, including permanent, temporary, full-time employees, will pay the biweekly premium shown under the "Your Share" column of the plan comparison chart in this Guide. If you continue FEHB coverage as a retiree, you will pay the same premium cost as other non-FDIC Federal government retirees, which is different than the FDIC share that is paid for active employees.

• Annual Enrollment Opportunity. Each year you can enroll or change your health plan enrollment. This year the Open Season runs from November 14, 2005, through December 12, 2005. Other events allow for certain types of changes throughout the year. Employees assigned to the Office of the Inspector General should call the OIG Human Resources Branch at (202) 416-2966. All other employees should contact the Benefits Hotline at 1-877-334-2111 or TDD 1-877-334-3092 for more information.

• Continued Group Coverage. Eligibility for you or your family members may continue following your retirement, divorce, death, or changes in employment status. Employees assigned to the Office of the Inspector General should call the OIG Human Resources Branch at 202-416-2966. All other employees should contact the Benefits Hotline at 1-877-334-2111 or TDD 1-877-334-3092 for more information.

• Coverage after FEHB Ends. You or your family members may be eligible for temporary continuation of FEHB coverage or for conversion to non-group (private) coverage when FEHB coverage ends. Employees assigned to the Office of the Inspector General should call the OIG Human Resources Branch at 202-416-2966. All other employees should contact the Benefits Hotline at 1-877-334-2111 or TDD 1-877-334-3092 for more information.

• Choice of Tax Treatment. Your share of the premium may be withheld from your biweekly salary payment on a pre-tax basis. Premiums are automatically withheld on a pre-tax basis unless you submit a waiver of your participation in the FDIC Premium Conversion Plan. Your waiver will remain in effect until you submit a request to restore pre-tax payment of your health insurance premiums

• Consumer Protections. Go to www.opm.gov/insure/health/consumers to see your appeal rights to OPM if you and your plan have a dispute over a claim; to read the Patients' Bill of Rights and the FEHB Program; and to learn about your privacy protections when it comes to your medical information.

Table of Contents