Office of Management and Budget Skip Main Navigation
President's Budget
Information &
Regulatory Affairs
Legislative Information
Agency Information

The Director of OMB is Jim Nussle
The Deputy Director of OMB is Stephen S. McMillin
The Deputy Director for Management of OMB is Clay Johnson III

Picture of Jim Nussle Jim Nussle

Jim Nussle is the Director of the Office of Management and Budget. On Tuesday, September 4, 2007, he was confirmed by the Senate with a broad, bipartisan vote.

Jim began his 25 years of public service after his graduation from Luther College (BA ’83) in Decorah, IA, and from Drake University Law School (JD ’85) in Des Moines, IA.

In 1986, he was elected the Delaware County Attorney, the chief law enforcement officer and prosecutor of the county. And in 1990, Jim ran for Congress and was elected the youngest Member of Congress at age 30.

Jim served on key committees during his 16 years in the Congress, including the Agriculture, Banking, and Ways and Means Committees. He also was elected by his peers to Chair the House Budget Committee during some of the most challenging fiscal times our country has experienced including September 11th, economic recession, and the global war on terror. Jim successfully developed and approved six budgets which helped reduce the deficit and restrain government spending while investing in our economic growth and national security.

In 2007 Jim retired from Congress after he was chosen to be the Republican nominee for Governor of Iowa in 2006.

Jim and his wife Karen live in Manchester, Iowa, with his two teenage children.

Picture of Stephen S. McMillin Stephen S. McMillin
Deputy Director

Mr. McMillin is the Deputy Director at the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). In this senior capacity, Mr. McMillin directly assists in the development of the Federal budget and execution of the President's programs and policies.

Prior to his current position, from November 2005 to June 2006, McMillin served President George W. Bush as deputy assistant to the President and advisor to Chiefs of Staff Andrew Card and Joshua Bolten.

Mr. McMillin first served OMB from December 2001 to November 2005 as Program Associate Director for General Government Programs. In this role, he was responsible for budget and management oversight of six Cabinet agencies.

From 1991 to 2001, Mr. McMillin served on the staff of the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs and on the staff of Senator Phil Gramm. During that time, he served as Senator Gramm's Legislative Director, Financial Economist and Legislative Assistant, directly handling major budget and tax legislation.

Mr. McMillin received his bachelor's degree from the University of Texas at Austin. He resides in Virginia with his wife, Dawn, and their two sons, Spencer and Christian.

Picture of Clay JohnsonClay Johnson III
Deputy Director for Management

Clay Johnson is the Deputy Director for Management at the Office of Management and Budget. The Deputy Director for Management provides government-wide leadership to Executive Branch agencies to improve agency and program performance. Prior to this he was the Assistant to the President for Presidential Personnel, responsible for the organization that identifies and recruits approximately 4000 senior officials, middle management personnel and part-time board and commission members.

From 1995 to 2000, Mr. Johnson worked with Governor George W. Bush in Austin, first as his Appointments Director, then as his Chief of Staff, and then as the Executive Director of the Bush-Cheney Transition.

Mr. Johnson has been the Chief Operating Officer for the Dallas Museum of Art and the President of the Horchow and Neiman Marcus Mail Order companies. He also has worked for Citicorp, Wilson Sporting Goods and Frito Lay.

He received his undergraduate degree from Yale University and a Masters degree from MIT’s Sloan School of Management. In Austin, he helped create the Texas State History Museum, and was also an Adjunct Professor at the University of Texas Graduate School of Business. In Dallas, he served as President of the Board of Trustees for St. Marks School of Texas, and as a Board Member of Equitable Bankshares, Goodwill Industries of Dallas, and the Dallas Chapter of the Young Presidents Organization.