Oregon Safe Routes to School Advisory Committee (Background, Duties, Membership Recommendations)

Safe Routes to School Program History

The Oregon Safe Routes to School Program was created by two pieces of legislation passed in 2005. One was a Federal transportation bill called SAFETEA-LU (Safe Accountable Flexible Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users). Among other things, this Federal bill apportioned funds for states to administer Safe Routes to School programs over five Federal fiscal years (FY2005-2009), in accordance with a formula specified in the legislation.

The other piece of legislation was Oregon House Bill 2742. The passage of this bill created The Safe Routes to School Fund and Program in anticipation of SAFETEA-LU. The state program is administered by the ODOT Transportation Safety Division (TSD), in consultation with the Oregon Transportation Safety Committee (OTSC).

The program's goal is to assist Oregon communities in identifying and reducing barriers and hazards to children, K-12, when walking or bicycling to or from school, within two miles of the school. The program may provide grants for education, engineering and enforcement, but before grants may be approved, the program must adopt administrative rules specifying criteria that will be used in awarding grants.

SR2S Advisory Committee

To assist TSD in developing the administrative rules, the OTSC directed TSD to form a Safe Routes to School Advisory Committee. The committee is to report to the Administrator of the Transportation Safety Division of the Oregon Department of Transportation. The committee is to have voting members from among the following groups:

Law enforcement

School district

Pedestrian-based advocacy group

Bicycle-based advocacy group

Local Traffic Safety Committee or Neighborhood Association

Public health/medical

Legislative

Traffic engineering

Department of Education pupil transportation

Marketing or community outreach

Concerned citizen or parent

Duties of the advisory committee shall be to:

- Advise and confer on matters pertaining to the adoption of emergency administrative rules establishing criteria used in awarding SR2S grants prior to adoption of permanent rules;
- Provide technical assistance to SR2S program;
- Provide a communication channel between the SR2S Program and stakeholders;
- Serve as an advocate of Safe Routes to School:
- Serve as review committee for SR2S grants

Selection Discussion

With the assistance of the SR2S Advisory Committee, the Safe Routes to School Program has the ability to encourage community dialogue and foster collaboration among varied constituencies all working toward the goal of improved walking and bicycling by children to school.

The selected nine committee members, five women and four men, offer a geographic representation: (4) Portland Metro; (2) Eugene; (2) Bend; (1) La Grande. They represent the following constituencies: Law Enforcement, School Districts, Pedestrian Advocate, Bicycle Advocate, Traffic Safety Committee, Traffic Engineering, Marketing/Community Outreach, Concerned Citizen, Parents.

At least three liaisons have been named to the committee, one representative from the Bicycle Transportation Alliance (BTA), one representative from the Oregon Department of Education, Pupil Transportation, and one representative from the Department of Human Services, Public Health. Other liaisons most likely will come from the Oregon Department of Transportation, Local Governments division and from the Oregon Transportation Safety Committee.

Selections

TSD has selected, with the endorsement of the Oregon Transportation Safety Committee, the following nine members to the Safe Routes to School Advisory Committee and the following three candidates as liaisons to the committee. The proposed 2-year or 3-year term is included after each person's name.

Law Enforcement

David Snider (3 year term)

Police Officer, City of Gresham; 18.5 years of experience as police officer with City of Gresham; Traffic Crash Investigator; Field Training Officer; Public Information Officer for Gresham PD; pedestrian and bicyclist collision reconstruction

School District

Gary Howland (3 year term)

Operations Director for La Grande School District; 27 years of experience in education - former Elementary School Principal, former Middle School Vice-Principal; Charter Member of Union County Safe Communities Committee

Pedestrian Advocate

Diane Bishop (3 year term)

Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator for City of Eugene, 28 years, retired; managed education, facilities and encouragement programs for Eugene Bicycle and Pedestrian Program; former member of Oregon Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (OBPAC) for ODOT Bicycle and Pedestrian Program in Highway Division; member of Eugene Bicycle Coalitio

Bicycle Advocate

Jonathan David (2 year term)

Transportation Planner with City of Gresham, manager of bicycle and footpath capital improvement plan; past member of advisory committees with focus on walkable/rideable community; parent of pre-school child – a potential beneficiary of SR2S program

Traffic Safety Committee/ Neighborhood Association

Dakota InyoSwan (2 year term)

SR2S Program Manager, Portland Office of Transportation; city program touches five public school districts and private schools; Community Outreach and Public Information Representative, working with schools, pedestrian/bicycle groups, transportation planners, law enforcement, traffic safety committees, neighborhood associations, government agencies

Traffic Engineer/Planner

Steve Jorgensen (3 year term)

Transportation Planner, Deschutes County; past project manager for the La Pine/Wickiup Jct. Local Street, Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan; worked with City of Bend on neighborhood traffic calming designs and installations; 2004 SR2S training in Marin County; 2004 SR2S seminar at national Pro Bike/Pro Walk

Marketing

Kim Curley (2 year term)

Community Outreach for Commute Options of Central Oregon; promotes alternative modes of transportation including Walk and Bike school programs, school carpools, transit, vanpools, commuter bike challenge; member of Healthy Active Central Oregon coalition

Community Outreach

Lisa VanWinkle (2 year term)

Smart Ways to School Coordinator for Commuter Solutions of Lane County, SR2S program that serves 36,000 students at 113 public and private K-12 schools in Eugene/Springfield; steering committee member of Lane Coalition on Healthy Active Youth

Concerned Citizen

Susanna Pai (3 year term)

Member of Milwaukie Public Safety Committee, active in community for over 15 years; business owner

Liaisons to the Advisory Committee

Bicycle Transportation Alliance (BTA) Liaison

Scott Bricker

Bicycle Transportation Alliance Policy Director and past Education Director; worked towards successful passage of Safe Routes to School legislation, House Bill 2742; worked with congressional delegation to support passage of Federal legislation SAFETEA-LU with Safe Routes component; currently working with City of Portland in

implementation of SR2S program; member of Advisory Board to the National SR2S Partnership

Oregon Department of Education Liaison

Steven Huillet

ODE Pupil Transportation Safety Patrol Coordinator; trains student and adult traffic patrol members, promotes "Buster the Bus" safety program

Department of Human Services Liaison

Jane Moore

Health Promotion Manager for DHS; oversees public health programs in health promotion and chronic disease prevention including physical activity, nutrition and obesity prevention