LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY FOR:

November 18, 2002

NRCS, Office of Legislative Affairs Room 5121, South Agriculture Bldg. (202) 720-2771 www.nrcs.usda.gov/about/legislative For additional information contact: Douglas J. McKalip Eric W. Carlson Sharyn C. Alvarez

LAST WEEK

CHAIRMAN COMBEST TO RESIGN- On Wednesday November 13, Rep. Larry Combest (TX), Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee announced his intentions to resign from Congress in May 2003. He also indicated he will not seek to continue as Chairman during his time in the 108th Congress.

LEADERSHIP CHANGES IN THE 108TH **CONGRESS** – The results of the election on November 5 will bring some changes to 108th Congress. There are a few Congressional races as yet not final, including a runoff for the Senate seat currently held by Sen. Mary Landrieu (LA). The final committee assignments will be made once new members are sworn in January. Both the House and Senate Agriculture Committees will have new Chairman. Additionally, the Chairman will change for the Senate Appropriations Committee and Agriculture Subcommittee. These tables indicates the changes;

House Membership				
107th Congress	Republicans 223	Democrats 208	Independents 1	Vacancies 3
108th Congress	Republicans 228	Democrats 203	Independents 1	Undecided Races 3
Senate Membership				
107th Congress	Democrats 49	Republicans 49	Independents 2*	
108th Congress	Democrats 47	Republicans 51	Independents 1	Undecided Races 1

^{*} Sen. Dean Barkley was appointed for the reminder of the 107th Congress for the late Sen. Paul Wellstone

House Committee Changes				
Agriculture Committee				
Larry Combest, TX, Chairman	Charles W. Stenholm, TX, Ranking Member			
John A. Boehner, OH	Gary Condit, CA			
Robert W. Goodlatte, VA	Collin C. Peterson, MN			
Richard W. Pombo, CA	Cal Dooley, CA			
Nick Smith, MI	Eva Clayton, NC			
Terry Everett, AL	Earl F. Hillard, AL			
Frank D. Lucas, OK	Tim Holden, PA			
Saxby Chambliss, GA	Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. GA			
Jerry Moran, KS	Bennie Thompson, MS			
Bob Shaffer, CO	John Baldacci, ME			
John Thune, SD	Marion Berry, AR			
Bill Jenkins, TN	Mike McIntyre, NC			
John Cooksey, LA	Bob Etheridge, NC			
Gil Gutknecht, MN	Leonard L. Boswell, IA			
Bob Riley, AL	David Phelps, IL			
Mike Simpson, ID	Ken Lucas, KY			
Doug Ose, CA	Mike Thompson, CA			
Robin Hayes, NC	Baron P. Hill, IN			
Charles W. Pickering, Jr. MS	Joe Baca, CA			
Timothy V. Johnson, IL	Rick Larsen, WA			
Tom Osborne, NE	Mike Ross, AR			
Mike Pence, IN	Anibal Acevedo-Vila, PR			
Denny Rehberg, MT	Ron Kind, WI			
Sam Graves, MO	Ronnie Shows, MS			
Adam H. Putnam, FL				
Mark Kennedy, MN				
George W. Gekas, PA				

Senate Committee Changes				
Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry				
Tom Harkin, IA, Chairman Richard G. Lugar, IN, Ranking Member				
Patrick J. Leahy, VT	Jesse Helms, NC			
Kent Conrad, ND	Thad Cochran, MS			
Tom Daschle, SD	Mitch McConnell, KY			
Max Baucus, MT	Pat Roberts, KS			
Blanche Lincoln, AR	Peter G. Fitzgerald, IL			
Zell Miller, GA	Craig Thomas, WY			
Debbie Stabenow, MI	Wayne Allard, CO			
Ben Nelson, NE	Tim Hutchinson, AR			
Mark Dayton, MN	Micheal D. Crapo, ID			
Vacancy				

CONTINUING RESOLUTION PASSED ON APPROPRIATIONS – On November 16, the House passed, the fifth FY 2003 continuing resolution, H.J. Res.124, to continue funding the federal government until January 11, 2003. The Senate is expected to pass and the President to sign the legislation into law before the current resolution expires on November 22, 2002.

MINE RECLAMATION BRIEFING- On November 13, 2002, Deputy Undersecretary Mack Gray and NRCS Associate Chief Tom Weber met with Rep. Brad Carson (D-OK), the Department of Interior, and members of the Rural Abandoned Mine Coalition to provide information regarding abandoned mine reclamation needs and the status of the Rural Abandoned Mine Program.

LEGISLATION OF NOTE

The following Bills of significance to NRCS and conservation have been introduced.

Bill	Sponsor	Purpose
S. 3099	Daschle, SD	To provide emergency disaster assistance to
		agricultural producers.