

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

## **REGION II**

SAM NUNN ATLANTA FEDERAL CENTER 61 FORSYTH STREET SW SUITE 23T85 ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303-8931 June 13, 2002

Mr. M. S. Tuckman Executive Vice-President Nuclear Generation Duke Energy Corporation P.O. Box 1006 Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

SUBJECT: MEETING ANNOUNCEMENT - MCGUIRE AND CATAWBA NUCLEAR

STATIONS 50-369, 50-370 and 50-413, 50-414

Dear Mr. Tuckman:

This letter confirms the telephone conversation between Mr. Robert Gill of your staff and Mr. Caudle Julian of this office on June 12, 2002, concerning a meeting to be conducted on July 26, 2002, beginning at 9:00 a.m., at your Duke Energy Corporation offices, at 526 S. Church Street, Charlotte, NC. The purpose of the meeting is for the NRC to present the results of the NRC's second inspection of the Duke license renewal program to be conducted July 8 - 26, 2002.

This meeting will be open for public observation per "Staff Meetings Open to the Public; Final Policy Statement" (59 FR 48340; September 20, 1994 as amended at 65 FR 56964; September 20, 2000). This meeting is designated as a Category 1 meeting in accordance with Commission Policy. As such, meetings in this category are typically held with one licensee to discuss particular regulatory issues regarding their specific facility. At this type of meeting, the NRC anticipates that the public would obtain factual information to assist in their understanding of the applicable regulatory issues and NRC actions.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at <a href="http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html">http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</a> (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

DEC 2

Should you have any questions concerning this meeting, please contact Caudle A. Julian at (404) 562-4603.

Sincerely,

## \RA\

Harold O. Christensen, Acting Director Division of Reactor Safety

Docket Nos:. 50-369, 50-370 and 50-413, 50-414 License Nos:. NPF-9, NPF-17 and NPF-35, NPF-52

cc: See page 3

DEC 3

cc: Mr. Gary Gilbert Regulatory Compliance Manager Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Ms. Lisa F. Vaughn
Duke Energy Corporation
422 South Church Street
Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

Anne Cottingham, Esquire Winston and Strawn 1400 L Street, NW Washington, DC 20005

North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1 1427 Meadowwood Boulevard P. O. Box 29513 Raleigh, North Carolina 27626

County Manager of York County York County Courthouse York, South Carolina 29745

Piedmont Municipal Power Agency 121 Village Drive Greer, South Carolina 29651

Ms. Karen E. Long Assistant Attorney General North Carolina Department of Justice P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Ms. Elaine Wathen, Lead REP Planner Division of Emergency Management 116 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27603-1335

Mr. Robert L. Gill, Jr.
Duke Energy Corporation
Mail Stop EC-12R
P. O. Box 1006
Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

Mr. Alan Nelson Nuclear Energy Institute 1776 I Street, N.W., Suite 400 Washington, DC 20006-3708 North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation P. O. Box 27306 Raleigh, North Carolina 27611

Catawba Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 4830 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Manager - Nuclear Regulatory Licensing Duke Energy Corporation 526 South Church Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

Mr. L. A. Keller Duke Energy Corporation 526 South Church Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

Saluda River Electric P. O. Box 929 Laurens, South Carolina 29360

Mr. Peter R. Harden, IV VP-Customer Relations and Sales Westinghouse Electric Company 5929 Carnegie Blvd. Suite 500 Charlotte, North Carolina 28209

Mr. T. Richard Puryear Owners Group (NCEMC) Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Mr. Richard M. Fry, Director North Carolina Dept of Env, Health, and Natural Resources 3825 Barrett Drive Raleigh, North Carolina 27609-7721

County Manager of
Mecklenburg County
720 East Fourth Street
Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

DEC 4

Mr. Mr. Jeffrey Thomas Regulatory Compliance Manager Duke Energy Corporation McGuire Nuclear Site 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

McGuire Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Dr. John M. Barry Mecklenburg County Department of Environmental Protection 700 N. Tryon Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

Mr. Gregory D. Robison Duke Energy Corporation Mail Stop EC-12R 526 S. Church Street Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

Ms. Mary Olson Nuclear Information & Resource Service Southeast Office P.O.Box 7586 Asheville, North Carolina 28802

Mr. Paul Gunter Nuclear Information & Resource Service 1424 16th Street NW, Suite 404 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. Lou Zeller Blue Ridge Environmental Defense League P. O. Box 88 Glendale Springs, North Carolina 28629

Mr. Don Moniak Blue Ridge Environmental Defense League Aiken Office P.O. Box 3487 Aiken, South Carolina 29802-3487 Mr. Henry J. Porter, Assistant Director Division of Waste Management Bureau of Land and Waste Management S. C. Dept. of Health and Environ. Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201-1708