National Security Council

Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20504 Phone, 202-456-1414

Members:

The President GEORGE W. BUSH
The Vice President DICK CHENEY
The Secretary of State CONDOLEEZZA RICE
The Secretary of Defense DONALD H. RUMSFELD

Statutory Advisers:

Director of National Intelligence
Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff
JOHN D. NEGROPONTE
GEN. PETER PACE, USMC

Standing Participants:

The Secretary of the Treasury
Chief of Staff to the President
Counsel to the President
Assistant to the President for National Security

JOHN W. SNOW
JOHN W. SNOW
HARRIET E. MIERS
STEPHEN J. HADLEY

Affairs

Assistant to the President for Economic Policy Allan B. Hubbard

Officials:

Assistant to the President for National Security STEPHEN J. HADLEY Affairs

Assistant to the President for National Security

Affairs and Doputy National Security

Affairs and Doputy National Security

Affairs and Deputy National Security
Adviser

Executive Secretary V. PHILLIP V. LAGO

The National Security Council was established by the National Security Act of 1947, as amended (50 U.S.C. 402). The Council was placed in the Executive Office of the President by Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1949 (5 U.S.C. app.).

The National Security Council is chaired by the President. Its statutory members, in addition to the President, are the Vice President and the Secretaries of State and Defense. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff is the statutory military adviser to the Council, and the Director of the Central Intelligence Agency is its intelligence adviser. The Secretary of the Treasury, the U.S. Representative to the United

Nations, the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, the Assistant to the President for Economic Policy, and the Chief of Staff to the President are invited to all meetings of the Council. The Attorney General and the Director of National Drug Control Policy are invited to attend meetings pertaining to their jurisdictions; other officials are invited, as appropriate.

The Council advises and assists the President in integrating all aspects of national security policy as it affects the United States—domestic, foreign, military, intelligence, and economic—in conjunction with the National Economic Council.

For further information, contact the National Security Council, Old Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20504. Phone, 202-456-1414.