to succeed to the Presidency, pursuant to Article II and the 20th and 25th amendments to the Constitution.

The executive functions of the Vice President include participation in Cabinet meetings and, by statute, membership on the National Security Council and the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution.

EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Under authority of the Reorganization Act of 1939 (5 U.S.C. 133–133r, 133t note), various agencies were transferred to the Executive Office of the President by the President's Reorganization Plans I and II of 1939 (5 U.S.C. app.), effective July 1, 1939. Executive Order 8248 of September 8, 1939, established the divisions of the Executive Office and defined their functions. Subsequently, Presidents have used Executive orders, reorganization plans, and legislative initiatives to reorganize the Executive Office to make its composition compatible with the goals of their administrations.

The White House Office

1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW., Washington, DC 20500 Phone, 202–456–1414. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov.

Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff Assistant to the President, Chief of Staff to the Vice President, and Counsel Assistant to the President and Deputy Chief of

Staff
Assistant to the President and Deputy National

Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Adviser

Assistant to the President and Press Secretary Assistant to the President and Staff Secretary Assistant to the President for Communications

Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism

Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs
Assistant to the President for National Security
Affairs

Assistant to the President for Presidential Personnel

Assistant to the President for Speechwriting Assistant to the President, Deputy Chief of Staff, and Senior Adviser

Counsel to the President Counselor to the President

Deputy Assistant to the President and Adviser to the Chief of Staff

Deputy Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff to the First Lady

Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy Director of Communications for Policy and Planning Joshua B. Bolten David S. Addington

JOSEPH W. HAGIN

JACK D. CROUCH II

Tony Snow Raul F. Yanes Nicolle Wallace Frances Fragos Townsend

CANDIDA PEROTTI WOLFF STEPHEN J. HADLEY

LIZA WRIGHT RENNER

WILLIAM J. MCGURN KARL C. ROVE

Harriet E. Miers Daniel J. Bartlett Steven S. McMillin

Anita B. McBride

CATHERINE J. MARTIN