

GENERAL DRIVERS & HELPERS LOCAL UNION NO. 554

Omaha 402-331-0550 Fax: 402-331-0557

> Grand Island 308-382-7600

> Sioux City 712-252-2751

June 2, 2005

Affiliated with the ES 126 International Brotherhood of Teamsters ES 126 AFL-CIO

Omaha, Nebraska 68127

#1019

E OF THE SECRETAR

57-19.03

Mr. William Donaldson, Chairman Securities and Exchange Commission 450 5 Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20549

Dear Chairman Donaldson:

As a trustee of the Contractors, Laborers, Teamsters, and Engineers Pension, Health and Welfare Funds representing 900 participants, I am concerned by recent reports that suggest that the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is under pressure to weaken some of the most important post-Enron adopted or proposed reforms. I wish to assure you that as a fiduciary of our fund I continue to support regulatory reforms that have helped restore investor confidence in the financial markets, have strengthened investor protections from corporate malfeasance, and have increased Board of Directors' accountability to shareholders. I am particularly concerned that the Commission may delay or weaken requirements under Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, and that the SEC may succumb to pressure to delay or completely eradicate the implementation of SEC proposed rule, S7-14-03 "Security Holder Director Nominations."

Section 404 is a central piece of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act. Effective financial controls are fundamental to maintaining the integrity of financial statements issued by listed corporations. Some corporations have criticized the new rule describing it as unduly burdensome and claiming that the cost of compliance far outweighs any perceived benefits. However, I believe that accounting integrity far outweighs the one-time costs corporations face in complying with this new rule. Now is not the time to abandon reforms that address fundamental problems in corporate accounting transparency and reporting.

Accounting integrity is not the only concern for investors. As you know, independent Board oversight is also important to ensure that corporations act in the best interest of its shareholders. That is why proxy access for shareholder director nominations continues to be one of the most anticipated reforms for institutional investors. However, I understand that the Commission is under intense pressure from individual corporations, and special interest groups like the Business Roundtable, and the Chamber of Commerce, to weaken or even eliminate the proposed rule all together. I urge the Commission to stand firm in the face of this opposition and continue to press for reforms that will increase Board responsiveness to shareowners.

Teamsters Building Better Lives Together

Mr. William Donaldson June 2, 2005 Page 2

. . .

The fact is that even the introduction of the proposed rule sparked a marked difference in board responsiveness to shareholder concerns. In 2003 corporate boards adopted nearly half of majority-vote-winning shareholder proposals--up from previous years when corporate boards often ignored the majority will of its shareowners. 2004 saw a decline as corporations seemingly felt more confident that lobbying efforts would thwart the Commission's resolve to implement its proposed rule.

I hope you will continue to fight for reforms that will protect shareholders and strengthen the capital markets. Thank you for your continued leadership on these very important issues.

Sincerely,

Kim Quick, President General Drivers & Helpers Union #554 4349 South 90 Street Omaha, NE 68127

Trustee

cc: Commissioner Paul Atkins Commissioner Roel Campos Commissioner Cynthia Glassman Commissioner Harvey Goldschmid Alan L. Beller, Director, Division of Corporation Finance Martin Dunn, Deputy Director, Division of Corporation Finance

KQ:nm

Mr. Mr.	First Name Rome A. Edward	Lastname Aloise Alvarado	Addess 1 Trustee Trustee
Mr.	James	Ambrosio	Trustee
Mr.	James R.	Anderson	Trustee
Mr.	David	Baumann	Trustee
Mr.	Mike	Bergen	Trustee
Mr.	William A.	Bernard	Trustee
Mr.	Robert T.	Berstein	Trustee
Mr.	Ferline	Blue	Trustee
Mr.	W. Raymond	Bradley	Trustee
Mr.	Robert	Buckley	Trustee
Mr.	John	Bulgaro	Trustee
Mr.	Frank	Burdelí	Trustee
Mr.	Joseph	Byers	Trustee
Mr.	Charles	Byrnes	Trustee
Mr.	George	Caballero	Trustee
Mr.	David	Cabral	Trustee
Mr.	Louis	Calemine	Trustee
Mr.	Kevin M.	Clark	Trustee
Mr.	Charles A.	Cimino Jr.	Trustee
Mr.	Ed	Clowes	Trustee
Mr.	Thomas N.	Conelias	Trustee
Mr.	John	Cuite	Trustee
Mr.	John E.	Adkins	Trustee
Mr.	William C.	Alexander	Trustee
Mr.	Patrick J.	Darrow	Trustee
Mr.	Demos P.	Demopoulos	Trustee
Mr.	John	Digiulid	Trustee
Mr.	Mark S.	Entee	Trustee
Mr.	Franklin L.	Gallegos	Trustee
Ms.	Sylvia	Garza	Trustee
Mr.	Daniel J.	Gatto	Trustee
Mr.	Fred	Gegare	Trustee
Mr.	Larry R.	Griffith	Trustee
Mr.	Angelo	Guarella	Trustee
Mr.	Chuck Bishard K	Haliburton	Trustee
Mr.	Richard K.	Hall	Trustee
Mr.	Quinten	Hausauer	Trustee
Mr.	Nathaniel	Jackson	Trustee
Mr.	Daniel J.	Kane	Trustee
Mr.	Daniel J.	Kane	Trustee
Mr.	Daniel J.	Kane	Trustee
Mr.	Daniel J.	Kane	Trustee
Mr.	Patrick D.	Kelly	Trustee
Mr.	Mike	Kling	Trustee
Mr.	Michael	Klingbeil	Trustee
Mr. Mr.	Randall Bill	Knudtson	Trustee
Mr.		Lenahan Loritz	Trustee
Mr.	Thomas M. Chuck	Mack	Trustee Trustee
Mr.	Anthony	Magrene	Trustee
/***	2 mmony	Magrene	TUSICE

x

Mr.	James	Majocha	Trustee				
Mr.	Roger P.	Marino	Trustee				
Mr.	Roy E.	Marshall	Trustee				
Mr.	Gary D.	Mauger	Trustee				
Mrs.	Rene	Medrano	Trustee				
Mr.	Ron	Meyer	Trustee				
Mr.	Joseph	Meyers	Trustee				
Mr.	Rick	Middleton	Trustee				
Mr.	Robert	Morales	Trustee				
Mr.	Dennis B.	Morgan	Trustee				
Mr.	Keith L	Noll	Trustee				
Mr.	Bruce	Osborne	Trustee				
Mr.	Victor M.	Palumbo	Trustee				
Mr.	Michael	Purdue	Trustee				
Mr.	Jerry	Ranita	Trustee				
Mr.	Thomas E.	Ratliff	Trustee				
Mr.	Dan W.	Ratty	Trustee				
Mr.	Dennis	Raymond	Trustee				
Mr.	Howard	Redmond	Trustee				
Mr.	Howard W.	Rhinier	Trustee				
Mr.	Douglas H.	Robbins	Trustee				
Mr.	Lucio M.	Ross	Trustee				
Mr.	Douglas J.	Rubbelke	Trustee				
Mr.	Charles W.	Russo	Trustee				
Mr.	John J.	Ryan	Trustee				
Mr.	Michael P.	Rys	Trustee				
Mr.	William M.	Shappell	Trustee				
Mr.	Al	Salvatore	Trustee				
Mr.	Archie	Smith	Trustee				
Mr.	F. Christophe	Silvera	Trustee				
Mr.	Jerry L.	Stuart	Trustee				
Mr.	Rudolph T.	Textor	Trustee				
Mr.	Allan	Thomas	Trustee				
Mr.	Richard P.	Thompson	Trustee				
Mr.	Dominic	Tocco Jr.	Trustee				
Mr.	Mark W.	Тгасу	Trustee				
Mr.	Jim	Tobin	Trustee				
Mr.	Lawrence A.	Wolfe Jr.	Trustee				
Mr.	Kenneth W.	Wood	Trustee				
 Ms.	Kim	Quick	Thustee	New letter	Came,	in on 6/8/65	-

. •