

SSB NEWS ALERT

FIVE NEW MEMBERS APPOINTED TO SPACE STUDIES BOARD, INCLUDING NEW CHAIR

The National Research Council has approved the provisional appointment of five new members to the Space Studies Board, including a new chair, **Charles F. Kennel** (NAS), who will succeed Lennard A. Fisk (NAS). Eight members were reappointed, including SSB's vice chair, A. Thomas Young (NAE).

The other four new members are **Yvonne Brill** (NAE), Consultant; **Andrew Christensen**, Dixie State College and the Aerospace Corporation; **Joan Johnson-Freese**, Naval War College; and **Ellen Zweibel**, University of Wisconsin, Madison.

The seven other SSB members who were reappointed are Steven J. Battel, Charles L. Bennett (NAS), Jack Fellows, Klaus Keil, James Pawelczyk, Joseph F. Veverka, and Warren M. Washington (NAE).

The nine members whose terms are ongoing are Daniel Baker, Alan Dressler (NAS), Elizabeth Cantwell, Fiona Harrison, Molly Macauley, Berrien Moore III, Soroosh Sorooshian (NAE), Joan Vernikos, and Charles E. Woodward.

We express our deepest thanks to our retiring Board members: Tamara Jernigan, Kenneth Nealson, Richard Truly, and Gary Zank. As of July 1, 2008, the SSB membership will be:

Charles F. Kennel, Scripps Institution, UC-San Diego, Chair A. Thomas Young, Lockheed Martin Corporation (retired), Vice Chair

Daniel N. Baker, U. of Colorado Steven J. Battel, Battel Engineering Charles L. Bennett, Johns Hopkins U. Yvonne Brill, Consultant Elizabeth Cantwell, Los Alamos Andrew Christensen, Dixie State College Alan Dressler, Obs. of the Carnegie Inst. Jack D. Fellows, UCAR Joan Johnson-Freese, Naval War College Fiona Harrison, Caltech Klaus Keil, U. of Hawaii Molly Macauley, Resources for the Future Berrien Moore III, Climate Central James Pawelczyk, Penn State Soroosh Sorooshian, UC-Irvine Joan Vernikos, Thirdage, LLC Joseph F. Veverka, Cornell Warren M. Washington, NCAR Charles E. Woodward, U. of Minnesota Ellen Zweibel, U. of Wisconsin

Additional biographical information about current members is available at www.nationalacademies.org/ssb; biographies of new members will be posted soon.