Skip Navigation

United States Department of Health & Human Services

Print Print    Download Reader PDF


The National Vaccine Advisory Committee (NVAC)

National Vaccine Program Office Stakeholders Meeting

April 29-30, 2008
Hilton Washington, DC/Rockville Executive Meeting Center
1750 Rockville Pike
Rockville, Maryland 20852

Draft Agenda
(subject to change)


Presentations and Panels


(Chair: Guthrie Birkhead)

Tuesday, April 29

7 a.m.

Registration Opens

9 a.m.


Bruce Gellin, Director, NVPO

9:05 a.m.

Meeting Overview (Goal, Expectations, Format)

Guthrie Birkhead, NVAC Chair & Chair, Finance Working Group

9:10 a.m.

White Paper Presentation (35 minutes)

Walter Orenstein, Finance Working Group Member

9:45 a.m.

Adolescent Financing Section Presentation (15 min)

Gary Freed, Chair, Adolescent WG/
Lance Gordon, NVAC Member

10:00 a.m.

Discussion of Finance White Paper & Adolescent Financing Section (20 min)

10:20 a.m.

Study Presentation (30 min talk 10 min Q&A)

Gary Freed, Professor University of Michigan

11:00 a.m.


11:20 a.m.

Study Presentation (20 min talk 5 min Q&A)

Stephen Berman & Judith Glazner

11:45 a.m.

Study Presentation (20 min talk 5 min Q&A)

Maggie Coleman Senior Health Scientist, CDC

12:10 p.m.

Study Presentation (20 min talk 5 min Q&A)

Byung-Kwang Yoo, Professor University of Rochester

12:35 p.m.

Study Presentation (20 min talk 5 min Q&A)

Jeff Couchman

1:00 p.m.


2:00 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.

Session I: Federal, State and Local Health Departments

Chair: Secretary Calvin Johnson

2:05 p.m.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) (15 min presentation)

Lance Rodewald, Director, Immunization Services Division

2:20 p.m.

National Association of State Medicaid Directors (NASMD) (5 min statement)

Barbara Edwards, Director NASMD

2:25 p.m.

National Conference of State Legislatures (5 min statement)

Joy Johnson Wilson, Health Policy Director, NCSL

2:30 p.m.

National Association of County & City Health Officials (NACCHO) (5 min statement)

Catherine Counard, Chair Immunization Committee

2:35 p.m.

Association of Immunization Managers (AIM) (5 min statement)

Claire Hannan, Executive Director

2:40 p.m.

Universal Government Purchase State (5 minutes each)

Marcella Bobinsky, New Hampshire, Immunization Program Manager Vincent Sacco, Connecticut Immunization Prog Manager

2:50 p.m.

Discussion & Summary (40 min discussion)

Secretary Calvin Johnson, NVAC Member

3:30 p.m.

Assistant Secretary for Health and Medical Director for the U.S. Public Health Service

Joxel Garcia

3:45 p.m.


4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.

Session II: Employers, Payers and Health Insurers

Chair: Dr. Alan Rosenberg

4:05 p.m.

America's Health Insurance Plans (AHIP) (15 min presentation)

Wayne Rawlins, National Medical Director, Aetna

4:20 p.m.

US Chamber of Commerce (15 min presentation)

Anthony Wisniewski, Executive Director and Counsel

4:35 p.m.

National Business Group on Health (15 min presentation)

Elizabeth Greenbaum, Manager

4:50 p.m.

Virginia Dept of Medical Assistance Services (10 min)

Rebecca Mendoza, Director, Division of Maternal and Child Health

5:00 p.m.

Discussion & Summary (30 min discussion)

Alan Rosenberg, Vice President Wellpoint

5:30 p.m.

Public Comments Period

Guthrie Birkhead

6:00 p.m.



Presentations and Panels


Wednesday, April 30

8:30 a.m.

Meeting Summary of Day 1

Gus Birkhead, Chair of NVAC & the Finance Working Group

8:40 a.m. - 10:10 a.m.

Session III: Vaccine Manufacturers

Chair: Dr. Lance Gordon

8:45 a.m.

Industry Organization (BIO & PhRMA (25 min presentation)

Christopher Colwell, Director, Health Regulatory Affairs, Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO)

Marie Vodicka, Assistant Vice President, PhRMA

9:10 a.m.

GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) (5 min statement)

Patrick McLain, Vice President, Federal Government Relations

9:15 a.m.

Med Immune (5 min statement)

Brian Rosen, Senior Director, Government Affairs

9:20 a.m.

Merck (5 min statement)

Laura Efros, Director, Vaccine Public Policy

9:25 a.m.

Novartis Vaccine and Diagnostics Inc (5 min statement)

Marguerite Baxter, Vice President and Head, Global Public Affairs

9:30 a.m.

sanofi pasteur (5 min statement)

Philip H Hosbach, Vice President, Immunization Policy & Government Relations

9:35 a.m.

Wyeth (5 min statement)

Dean Mason, Assistant Vice President, Global Vaccine Policy

9:40 a.m.

Discussion & Summary (30 minutes)

Lance Gordon, NVAC Member

10:10 a.m.


10:30 to 12:05 p.m.

Session IV: Health Care Providers

Chair: Dr. Jon Almquist

10:35 p.m.

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) (15 min presentation)

Anne Frances, Chair, AAP Private Payer Advocacy Advisory Committee

10:50 p.m.

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) (15 min presentation)

Herbert Young, Director, Scientific Activities Division

11:05 p.m.

American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists (ACOG) (5 min statement)

Katy Gerhard, Program Manager Immunization

11:10 p.m.

American Medical Association (AMA) (5 min statement)

Mary Anne McCaffree, Chair, Council on Science & Public Health

11:15 p.m.

Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) (5 min statement)

Grace Lee & Julie Hantman

11:20 p.m.

American Pharmacists Association (5 min statement)

Marcie Bough, Director, Federal Regulatory Affairs

11:25 p.m.

Discussion & Summary 40 min

Jon Almquist, NVAC Member

12:05 p.m.


1:05 p.m. - 2:20 p.m.

Session V: Vaccine Distribution and Purchase

Chair: Dr. Gregory Wallace

1:10 p.m.

Health Industry Distributors Association (HIDA) (15 min presentation)

Andrew Van Ostrand, Vice President

1:25 p.m.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) (15 min presentation)

Greg Wallace Chief, Vaccine Supply & Assurance Branch

1:40 p.m.

Henry Schein (5 min statement)

Philip Baseil, Vice President

1:45 p.m.

McKesson Corporation (5 min statement)

John Campbell

1:50 p.m.

Discussion & Summary (30 min)

Greg Wallace

2:20 p.m.


2:45 p.m. - 3:50 p.m.

Session VI: Consumers

Chair: Amy Pisani

2:50 p.m.

Every Child by Two (15 min presentation)

Amy Pisani, Executive Director

3:05 p.m.

Parents of Kids with Infectious Diseases (PKIDS) (5 min statement)

Trish Parnell, Executive Director

3:10 p.m.

Immunization Action Coalition (5 min statement)

Diane Peterson, Associate Director

3:15 p.m.

March of Dimes (5 min statement)

Marina Weiss, Vice President

3:20 p.m.

Summary and Q&A (30 min)

Amy Pisani

3:50 p.m.

Public Comments Period (15 min)

Guthrie Birkhead

4:05 p.m.

Summary of the stakeholders perspectives & comments in relation to the recommendations and conclusions of the white paper (30 min)

Alan Hinman Walt Orenstein

4:35 p.m.

Closing Remarks

Guthrie Birkhead

4:40 p.m.

Meeting Adjourned

Last revised: May 27, 2008


HHS Home | Questions? | Contact HHS | Accessibility | Privacy Policy | FOIA | Disclaimers

The White House | | Helping America's Youth