Federal Long Term Care Insurance Program (FLTCIP)

RI 70-01 For Federal Civilian Employees

What does this Program offer?

The FLTCIP offers insurance that helps cover the costs of certain long term care services. Long term care is the assistance you receive to perform activities of daily living - such as bathing or dressing yourself . or supervision you receive because of a severe cognitive impairment. Long term care can be provided in a facility, like a nursing home, but is mostly provided at home.

Key FLTCIP facts

• The FLTCIP is not part of the annual Federal Benefits Open Season.
• You must apply and answer questions about your health to find out if you are eligible to enroll.
• You can apply for coverage at any time using the full underwriting application; you do not have to wait for an Open Season.
• New/newly eligible employees and their spouses and newly married spouses of employees can apply with abbreviated underwriting (fewer questions about their health) within 60 days of becoming eligible.
• Qualified family members can also apply, with full underwriting.
• Once enrolled, you can keep your coverage even if you are no longer in an eligible group (for example, you leave your job with the Federal Government).
• The FLTCIP is sponsored by OPM and insured by John Hancock and MetLife

How much does it cost?

If you are approved for coverage, your premium is based on your age on the date your application is received and on the benefit options you select. You may pay your premiums through deductions from your pay or annuity, by automatic bank withdrawal, or by direct bill.

Am I eligible to apply?

Most Federal employees are eligible to apply for coverage; those who are not eligible usually have limited appointments of short duration, or work sporadically only during certain seasons or when needed by their Federal agency. If you are eligible for the FEHB Program you are eligible to apply for coverage under the FLTCIP, even if you are not enrolled in the FEHB Program. Retirees are eligible to apply. Spouses and adult children of eligible employees and retirees may also apply, as well as parents, parentsinlaw, and stepparents of employees (but not of retirees).

How do I apply?

You apply by completing an application found at www.ltcfeds.com or by calling 1-800-LTCFEDS. You must pass a medical screening (called underwriting). Certain medical conditions, or combinations of conditions, will prevent some people from being approved for coverage. By applying while you're in good health, you could avoid the risk of having a future change in your health disqualify you from obtaining coverage. Also, the younger you are when you apply, the lower your premiums.

If you are a new or newly eligible employee, you (and your spouse, if applicable) have 60 days to apply using the abbreviated underwriting application, which asks fewer questions about your health. Newly married spouses of employees also have 60 days to apply using abbreviated underwriting.

Open Seasons for the FLTCIP are infrequent, but you don't have to wait for an Open Season - you may apply anytime using the full underwriting application.

What should I consider in making my decision to participate in this Program?

Remember that FEHB plans do not cover the cost of long term care. While Medicare covers some care in nursing homes and at home, it does so only for a limited time, subject to restrictions. The need for long term care can strike anyone at any age and the cost of care can be substantial.

How do I get more information about this Program?

To request an Information Kit and application, call 1-800-LTCFEDS (1-800-582-3337) (TTY 1-800-843-3557) or visit www.ltcfeds.com.

Table of Contents