Your Holiness,

We the undersigned Nobel Laureates are conscious of the great responsibility borne by your Holiness in appraising and acting upon the advice offered by the Commission you have appointed to study the problems of population and fertility control. Because of the profound bearing of your decision on human welfare and happiness, now and for many years to come, we urge you to give due weight to the ever growing opinion which contends --

That the uncontrolled growth of population is a major evil of present times;

That unwanted children are a source of unhappiness, privation and distress; and --

That parents should be able to exercise the right to have, so far as possible, only that number of children which can be cared for and cherished.

Lord Adrian (Great Britain) Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett (Great Britain) Max Born (German Federal Republic) Daniel Bovet (Italy) Lord Boyd-Orr (Great Britain) Sir Laurence Bragg (Great Britain) Sir James Chadwick (Great Britain) Sir James Chadwick (Great Britain) Ernst Boris Chain (Great Britain) Sir Henry Hallett Dale (Great Britain) Sir Howard Florey (Great Britain) Werner Forssmann (German Federal Republic) Otto Hahn (German Federal Republic) Werner Heisenberg (German Federal Republic) Walter Rudolf Hess (Switzerland)

Jaroslav Heyrovsky (Czechoslovakia) Alan Lloyd Hodgkin (Great Britain) Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin (Great Britain) Andrew Fleming Huxley (Great Britain) Hans Daniel Jensen (German Federal Republic) Paul Karrer (Switzerland) John Cowdery Kendrew (Great Britain) Sir Hans Krebs (Great Britain) Halldor Laxness (Iceland) Archer John Porter Martin (Great Britain) Peter Brian Medawar (Great Britain) Giulio Natta (Italy) Max Ferdinand Perutz (Great Britain) Cecil Frank Powell (Great Britain) Salvatore Quasimodo (Italy) Sir C.V. Raman (India) Tadeus Reichstein (Switzerland) Sir Robert Robinson (Great Britain) Earl Russell (Great Britain) Frederick Sanger (Great Britain) Theodor Svedberg (Sweden) Richard Laurence Millington Synge (Great Britain) Arne Wilhelm Tiselius (Sweden) Hugo Theorell (Sweden) Sir George Paget Thomson (Great Britain) Lord Todd (Great Britain) Maurice Hugh Frederick Wilkins (Great Britain) Karl Zeigler (German Federal Republic)

London March 18, 1965