ITA header image
Industry Trade Policy
Trade Policy HomePage

Trade Agreements
Free Trade Agreements

Trade Disputes
Retaliatory Actions
Section 301
Special 301

Implementation of U.S. Trade Law
U.S. Preference Programs
Miscellaneous Tariff Bills
Section 337

WTO Accessions

The World Trade Organization (WTO), the only international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations, consists of 149 member nations that agree with the principles of the WTO. Autonomous governments wishing to join the WTO (or “accede” to the WTO) must submit a formal request to the General Council of the WTO and undergo a rigorous examination process, in addition to participating in multilateral and bilateral negotiations with members of the Working Party.

The United States promotes WTO Accessions and free trade by serving on the Working Party for the majority of the 27 accessions currently in progress. The United States also participates in bilateral agreements with the acceding countries. (Note: Although the United States participates in bilateral agreements with acceding nations, the United States does not make concessions- the acceding countries make unilateral concessions.) Key areas in the bilateral negotiations are tariffs, non-tariff barriers, and WTO Rules commitments. The negotiated agreements are then included in the “final accession package” to be approved by the General Council or the Ministerial Conference before the acceding nation’s membership is decided.

Links to Web sites outside the U.S. federal government or the use of trade, firm, or corporation names within the International Trade Administration Web sites are for the convenience of the user. Such use does not constitute an official endorsement or approval by the U.S. Commerce Department of any private sector Web site, product, or service.

Indicates a PDF file. If you can't open these, download a free Acrobat Reader.

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer |