DEVELOPING DISASTER MENTAL HEALTH RESEARCH CAPACITY THROUGH EDUCATION (R25)

RELEASE DATE:  March 19, 2003

RFA:  MH-03-009

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
 (http://www.nimh.nih.gov/) 
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
 (http://www.ninr.nih.gov/)
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
 (http://www.samhsa.gov/)

CATALOG OF FEDERAL DOMESTIC ASSISTANCE NUMBERS:  93.242, 93.361, 93.982

LETTER OF INTENT RECEIPT DATE:  May 16, 2003
APPLICATION RECEIPT DATE:  June 13, 2003

THIS RFA CONTAINS THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION

o  Purpose of this RFA
o  Background
o  Research Education Program Objectives
o  Mechanism(s) of Support
o  Funds Available
o  Eligible Institutions
o  Individuals Eligible to become Principal Investigators
o  Special Requirements
o  Where to send Inquiries
o  Letter of Intent
o  Submitting an Application
o  Peer Review Process
o  Review Criteria
o  Receipt and Review Schedule
o  Award Criteria
o  Required Federal Citations

PURPOSE OF THIS RFA

The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), the National Institute of 
Nursing Research (NINR), and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA) seek to encourage collaborative partnerships among 
scientists from various disciplines and State and local health and mental 
health authorities to facilitate interdisciplinary research and disaster 
mental health research education, and to establish the capacity for rapid 
data collection after disasters, including acts of terrorism.  To this end, 
this Request for Applications (RFA) is designed to create disaster mental 
health research education and rapid response programs to improve the capacity 
for high-quality disaster mental health research, speed the process for 
timely data collection in the aftermath of unforeseen events, and ultimately 
improve connections between evidence-based practice and the public health 
response to disasters.  Accordingly, programs will be supported for (1) the 
development of and instruction of others in state of the art disaster mental 
health research methodology, including new methods and measures, and  (2) the 
formation of interdisciplinary disaster research teams and research 
protocols, in conjunction with Federal, State and local public health 
authorities, for rapid data collection efforts after disasters and acts of 
mass violence.  The sponsoring Institutes and SAMHSA propose to fund the 
development of programs to establish and conduct educational and training 
activities and to create disaster research partnerships and protocols, with 
the option of supplemental funding for implementing rapid data collection 
activities in response to unforeseen events.

BACKGROUND

Although disasters are disconcertingly prevalent in modern culture, 
prospective systematic studies of them have been relatively few, in part 
because of the difficulties inherent in field research that are compounded by 
circumstances associated with disaster scenes.  Additionally, the ability to 
generalize about psychological effects of disasters has been limited by vast 
differences in methodologies used, including critical items such as time 
frames, identification of populations, sampling, and instruments.  The 
diverse conceptualizations and methodologies that exist today reflect the 
fact that disasters are studied by a wide range of clinicians and behavioral 
scientists who can have quite different conceptualizations of disaster 
effects.

The attacks of September 11, 2001, and the anthrax aftermath highlight the 
need for a systems orientation to planning for and responding to terrorism at 
both the population/community and individual/clinical levels.  The nation's 
health can be better assured with a system-wide public health infrastructure, 
incorporating various scientific and practice disciplines relevant to mental 
health.  The mental health and nursing research communities have important 
roles to play in developing a comprehensive framework for public health 
response.  Such efforts can only be successful if there is adequate mental 
health research capacity relevant to terrorism and biodefense.  The framework 
for research should include biomedical, behavioral, and health systems 
perspectives and should be applied to developing research capacity through 
education and training.

There are many barriers to conducting rigorous research in the context of 
emergencies, including the need to establish collaborative relationships 
among investigators, emergency health care workers, and public health 
officials.  The feasibility of gaining insight into public health 
preparedness and public health and clinical response will be enhanced when 
opportunities to learn and validation by research are embedded in response 
planning.

The need for interdisciplinary researchers capable of designing and 
implementing studies using state of the art research methods in partnership 
with state and local public health officials responsible for disaster 
preparedness and response provides the rationale for this RFA.

RESEARCH EDUCATION PROGRAM OBJECTIVES

This RFA is the result of a confluence of issues related to the mental health 
consequences of disasters and acts of mass violence.  The terrorist attacks 
of September 11, 2001, and the ensuing national reaction have highlighted the 
need to learn what we can from these unfortunate situations so as to reduce 
mental health complications, improve national response, and better address 
the consequences of such situations in the future.  At its January 2002 
meeting, the National Advisory Mental Health Council requested that NIMH 
enhance its capacity for supporting rapid data collection in the days and 
weeks following acts of mass violence.  At its January 2002 meeting, the 
National Advisory Council for Nursing Research encouraged initiation of NINR 
biodefense research activities to prevent physical and behavioral 
complications after exposure to chemical or biologic agents.  This request 
was made based on the recognition that research advances in the understanding 
of the neurobiological nature, cause, pathogenesis, treatment, and prevention 
of posttraumatic psychopathology must be obtained sooner than is currently 
possible with existing funding mechanisms.  Moreover, research to understand 
and address the behavioral health implications of a bioterrorist attack will 
require new approaches.

Prior to preparing an application, potential applicants are strongly 
encouraged to contact the appropriate Institute or SAMSHA staff person 
(listed in the section WHERE TO SEND INQUIRIES) to determine whether their 
application meets the program goals of the NIMH, NINR, and/or SAMHSA.  This 
action is of utmost importance, as applications that do not adequately 
address the educational needs identified in the section PURPOSE OF THIS RFA 
will not be accepted for review.

The sponsoring Institutes and SAMHSA expect applicant institutions to propose 
their own set of creative and innovative programs that address both of the 
activities identified in the section PURPOSE OF THIS RFA (the development of 
and the instruction of others in state of the art disaster mental health 
research methodology and the formation of interdisciplinary disaster research 
partnerships and protocols).  Examples of potential program components 
include, but are not limited to, the following:

o  Cross-disciplinary education and networking to prospectively develop 
research protocols and improve access to disaster-exposed populations, 
involving leading researchers and State and local health and mental health 
authorities responsible for disaster preparedness and response.

o  Develop and deliver educational and practical training experiences that 
enhance the participation and commitment of both early career and established 
clinical researchers interested in disaster mental health research.

o  Educational and training activities integrating epidemiological methods 
and analysis, other advanced research methods, and statistics in the study of 
risk/protective factors, etiology, interventions, and/or services for adverse 
mental and behavioral health outcomes.

o  State of the science seminars for advancing consistency in 
methods/measures and promoting the use of a standard taxonomy for 
characterizing study designs, samples, measures, and phases of disasters and 
disaster research, including intervention research.

o  Interdisciplinary approaches to the development, adaptation, and 
modification of treatment, prevention, and rehabilitative interventions to 
increase the public health relevance of these interventions to disaster-
impacted communities and diverse settings.

o  Interdisciplinary and collaborative educational activities that will lead 
to developing, testing, and refining assessment instruments and tools for 
evaluating the impact of disasters, including bioterrorism, on a community 
(psychological, biological, and behavioral reactions to loss of life, 
contaminated facilities, loss of social and economic resources, and other 
stressors, including the impact on schools and children), and tools for 
assessing individual risk and for facilitating triaging based on severity of 
risk.

o  Instruction in field research methods, emphasizing approaches to 
addressing unique challenges associated with disaster-impacted communities.

o  Interdisciplinary and collaborative educational activities that will 
illuminate the implications of communications about, and actual efforts 
involving, testing, evacuation, vaccination, treatment, and quarantine in the 
context of bioterrorism.

o  Mentored educational and training activities for evaluating systems 
response and for carrying out research on public health communications, risk 
appraisal and public behavior using innovative methods (virtual disasters and 
response simulation.)

o  Cross-disciplinary education and networking, informed by biological, 
behavioral, cognitive, and health systems perspectives, to improve strategies 
for communication to the public about vaccination programs and to improve 
guidance to State and local health agencies that may be establishing 
population-based vaccination programs.

o  Educational and training activities to facilitate collaborations among 
scientists knowledgeable about behavioral health and risk communication and 
public health officials who will disseminate information to prevent negative 
consequences (e.g., panic, stigma, blaming, etc.) and to promote adaptive and 
responsible behavior before, during, and after acts of terrorism.

o  Collaborative and interdisciplinary educational activities designed to 
evaluate unique aspects of disasters involving biohazards; to develop 
predictive models for group behavior; to evaluate and further develop public 
health communication guidance and message-framing strategies; and to develop 
measures unique to these types of events to assess reactions to loss of life, 
physical injuries, exacerbation of chronic illnesses, contaminated 
facilities, loss of social and economic resources and other stressors.

o  Mentored educational and practical experiences in translational research, 
drawing on basic behavioral research, to improve risk assessment, reduce 
panic, and guide appropriate health-seeking and protective behaviors.

o  Educational and clinical research opportunities regarding environmental 
risk factors associated with collective emergencies, such as community and 
agency response; origin, duration, severity, and type of emergency event or 
threat; and potential for re-occurrence.

o  Training in and the development of research protocols that are sensitive 
to anticipated regional/local needs, to facilitate rapid data collection on 
epidemiology of exposure; risk and protective factors; diverse 
neurobiological and behavioral outcomes; and mental health interventions 
(both short-term crisis intervention and long-term mental health treatment.)

o  Provide mentored clinical research opportunities in diverse settings 
designed for students enrolled in medical or graduate school degree programs 
and clinical residents.

o  Develop or enhance the research curricula and mentoring provided during 
postdoctoral training or residency training; and/or create research-training 
tracks within residency training.

o  Improve the quality of mentoring in disaster mental health-relevant 
research areas, particularly improving in the retention and advancement of 
physician scientists and nursing, pediatric, and geriatric researchers 
interested in disaster mental health.

o  Educational/research experiences that enhance underrepresented minorities' 
and/or women's participation in and commitment to disaster mental health 
research.

o  Cross-disciplinary educational/research experiences that prepare mental 
health researchers and/or nursing researchers to conceptualize and conduct 
research that integrates more than one discipline (e.g., integrate public 
health/epidemiological, neuroscience, clinical, computational, technical, and 
economic perspectives) or to translate approaches from the basic behavioral, 
social, and/or neurosciences to clinical and emergency services research 
issues.

o  Education and training for improved research on disaster and intervention 
response, including, but not limited to, early detection of symptoms; symptom 
management, such as functioning, impairment, and disability; short- and long-
term effects of environmental stress, toxicity, and trauma; and response to 
intervention.

o  Educational and training activities related to ethical issues (e.g., 
privacy, confidentiality, assessing and monitoring participants' 
understanding of risks and benefits over time, etc.) in disaster mental 
health research.

SAMHSA is particularly interested in, and will give additional funding 
consideration to, program(s) attempting to establish the capacity to provide 
technical assistance focused on needs assessment, empirically based program 
design, and evaluation of services provided by public sector mental health 
providers.  Examples of these potential program components for SAMHSA funding 
include the following:

o  Establishment of Empirically Based Needs Assessment Strategies - Describe 
specific activities designed to assist State Mental Health Authorities in 
further defining, planning for, and enhancing internal procedures for needs 
assessment after disasters and large-scale crises.  Before disasters, 
assistance to States would be designed to help States develop potential needs 
assessment approaches based on factors shown through research to have 
potentially significant mental health effects.  After disasters, assistance 
to States would include technical assistance in conducting needs assessments 
and refining needs assessment methodologies to address unique needs related 
to each disaster and to assist in shifting resources if warranted.

o  Evaluation of Training Efforts - Describe a method for evaluating the 
efficacy of various training and educational endeavors most frequently used 
to prepare mental health professionals and paraprofessionals for field work 
at the site of a major disaster or catastrophic event.

o  Establishment of State and Local Research Plans - Describe plans to 
provide technical assistance to State and/or local public mental health 
authorities for establishing research and education plans.  Assistance to 
State Mental Health Authorities should be designed to ensure that State and 
local planners and service providers will contribute to and benefit from the 
collection and analysis of research data.  This collaboration would occur 
through participation in at least one technical assistance meeting to be 
arranged by SAMHSA.

Potential applicants interested in these issues are encouraged to consult 
with SAMHSA program staff identified in the section WHERE TO SEND INQUIRIES.

The activities supported by Mental Health Research Education Grants can 
involve educational/research experiences of short duration (e.g., 3 months 
with or without provisions for further ongoing contacts) or longer-term 
programs.  Formats for the programs may vary to include a series of short 
courses, seminars, workshops, or structured short-term or long-term research 
experiences.  Content areas may include curriculum development, design, 
implementation, and evaluation.

Individuals supported by NIH training and career development mechanisms (K, 
T, or F Grants) may obtain, and indeed are encouraged to obtain, educational 
experiences supported by this R25 RFA, but may not receive salary or stipend 
supplementation from the R25 program.

Mental Health Research Education Grants support educational activities 
focused on basic, clinical, services and other applied mental health and/or 
nursing research, and may not be used for support of non-research clinical 
training.  This mechanism may be used, however, to provide Mental Health 
Research educational experiences to those in clinical training or in a 
clinical research track within a clinical training program.

MECHANISM OF SUPPORT

This RFA will use the NIH Education Research Program grant (R25) award 
mechanism.  As an applicant you will be solely responsible for planning, 
directing, and executing the proposed project.  This RFA is a one-time 
solicitation.  Future unsolicited, competing-continuation applications based 
on this project will compete with all investigator-initiated applications and 
will be reviewed according to the customary peer review procedures.  
Applicants who wish to submit again in response to PAR-02-087 
(http://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/pa-files/PAR-02-087.html), should 
subsequently submit a new R25 application.

Mental Health Research Education Grants may be awarded for two to five years.  
The length of the grant period should be consistent with the objectives of 
the program.  In some cases, these awards will be made to develop new 
educational approaches for which the institution will subsequently assume 
support.  In other cases, the awards will strengthen activities that the NIMH 
and NINR will support over periods of two to five years.  The anticipated 
award date is March 2004.

This RFA uses the non-modular budgeting format.  Applicants must use the 
forms for regular research grants, follow the specific instructions in the 
PHS 398 application kit, and provide a complete detailed budget (Form Pages 4 
& 5) with narrative justifications.

FUNDS AVAILABLE

The participating Institutes and Agency intend to commit approximately 
$750,000 in FY 2004 to fund 2 to 3 new applications in response to this RFA.  
An applicant may request a project period of up to 5 years and a budget for 
direct costs of up to $250,000 per year.  Because the nature and scope of the 
proposed research will vary from application to application, it is 
anticipated that the size and duration of each award will also vary.  
Although the financial plans of NIMH, NINR, and SAMHSA provide support for 
this program, awards pursuant to this RFA are contingent upon the 
availability of funds and the receipt of a sufficient number of meritorious 
applications.  

ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS

You may submit (an) application(s) if your institution has any of the 
following characteristics:

o  For-profit or non-profit organizations
o  Public or private institutions, such as universities, colleges, hospitals, 
   and laboratories
o  Units of State and local governments
o  Eligible agencies of the Federal government
o  Domestic
o  Faith-based or community-based organizations

Foreign institutions are not eligible to apply.

It is anticipated that in most cases these programs will complement other 
ongoing research training occurring at the applicant institution and that a 
substantial number of program faculty would have active research projects in 
which students can gain relevant experiences.  If multiple sites are to be 
used, the applicant institution must be one of those sites.  Institutions 
with existing Institutional National Research Training Grants (T32) or other 
federally funded training programs may apply for an education research grant 
provided the proposed educational experiences are distinct from those 
training programs receiving NIH support.  In situations where contractual 
arrangements are an integral part of the proposed research education, all 
costs associated with the contractual arrangement (direct and F&A) must be 
considered as a direct cost and included in the $250,000 direct costs 
limitation.

INDIVIDUALS ELIGIBLE TO BECOME PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATORS

Any individual with the skills, knowledge, and resources necessary to carry 
out the proposed research education program is invited to work with their 
institution to develop an application for support.  Individuals from 
underrepresented racial and ethnic groups as well as individuals with 
disabilities are always encouraged to apply for NIH programs.

Since this is an educational mechanism, and not a training mechanism, non-US 
citizens may participate in this program.  However, requests for the 
appointment and participation of non-US personnel into this education grant 
should be made with the understanding that this mechanism is not to be used 
to circumvent or supplement standard NRSA training mechanisms, and unless 
strongly justified on the basis of high NIMH or NINR Program relevance, 
should be used primarily for the education of US citizens.

Applicants are strongly encouraged to contact Program staff to discuss the 
appropriate utilization of this mechanism with respect to the eligibility, 
appointment, and participation of non-US citizens.

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS

Allowable costs must be consistent with NIH policy and be reasonable, 
allocable, and well documented and justified for the research education 
program.  Grant funds may not be used to supplant funds otherwise available 
at the applicant institution.

Personnel Costs - individuals participating in the design and implementation 
of the research education program may request salary and fringe benefits 
appropriate for the percent of time devoted to the program.  Normally, all 
personnel costs (including administrative and clerical costs) associated with 
directing, coordinating, and administering the program are not expected to 
exceed 25% of the total direct cost.  Salaries requested may not exceed the 
levels commensurate with the institution's policy for similar positions and 
may not exceed the congressionally mandated cap.  (If mentoring interactions 
and other activities with students is considered a regular part of an 
individual's academic duties, then mentoring and other interactions with 
students are non-reimbursable from grant funds).

Limited administrative and clerical salary costs associated distinctly with 
the program that are not normally provided by the applicant organization may 
be direct charges to the grant only when specifically identified and 
justified.  Consultation costs, equipment, supplies, necessary travel 
(including foreign travel for uniquely qualified foreign faculty), and other 
program related expenses must be justified as specifically required by the 
program proposed and not duplicate items generally available for educational 
programs at the host institution.

Participant Support - participants in the education program may receive 
subsistence allowance, which includes partial costs of meals and lodging 
(unless furnished as part of the fee for registration).  They may also 
receive partial tuition, other education-related, and travel expenses, 
including foreign travel, if strongly justified.  Note that effort and how 
the dollar amount is determined must be included when describing the 
participant support and also be listed in the budget justification area.

Individuals supported by NIH training and career development mechanisms (K, T 
or F Grants) may not receive stipend or salary support from the Mental Health 
Research Education Grant.  However, if funds are not available from other 
sources, limited support to defray participation costs (e.g., travel, meals, 
lodging) may be provided.

Partial costs for off-site rental space will be considered if it is short 
term and shown to be necessary for the implementation and execution of the 
educational program (seminar, workshop, etc.).  Matching funds from applicant 
institutions or other organizations for such off-site costs are strongly 
encouraged.

Facilities and Administrative (F&A) Costs, formerly known as "indirect 
costs," may be allowed for the applicant organization and any approved 
subcontract based on 8% of total direct costs exclusive of tuition and fees 
and expenditures for equipment.

Normally, funds will not be provided for fringe benefits or health insurance 
for participants involved in this education program.

Note that all costs associated with consortium/contractual arrangements, both 
direct and F&A costs, are considered direct costs and are included in the 
$250,000 direct costs ceiling limitation for this program.

Normally, funds for the research education evaluation plan are not expected 
to exceed 5% of the total direct cost.

WHERE TO SEND INQUIRIES

We encourage inquiries concerning this RFA and welcome the opportunity to 
answer questions from potential applicants.  Inquiries may fall into three 
areas:  scientific/research, peer review, and financial or grants management 
issues:

o  Direct your questions about scientific/research issues to:

Farris Tuma, Sc.D.
Division of Mental Disorders, Behavioral Research, and AIDS
National Institute of Mental Health
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 6200, MSC 9617 
Bethesda, MD  20892-9589
Telephone:  (301) 443-5944
FAX:  (301) 480-4415
Email:  ftuma@nih.gov

Hilary D. Sigmon, Ph.D., RN
National Institute of Nursing Research
6701 Democracy Boulevard, Room 710, MSC 4870
Bethesda, MD  20892-4870
Telephone:  (301) 594-5970
FAX:  (301) 480-8260
Email:  hilary.sigmon@nih.gov

Charles G. Cook, LSW
Center for Mental Health Services
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
17C-20, Parklawn Drive
Rockville, MD  20857
Telephone:  (301) 443-4736
FAX:  (301) 443-8040
Email:  ccook@samhsa.gov

o  Direct your questions about peer review issues to:

Michael Kozak, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Mental Health
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 6138, MSC 9608
Bethesda, MD  20892-9608
Telephone:  (301-) 443-6471
FAX:  (301) 443-4720
Email:  mkozak@nih.gov

o  Direct your questions about financial or grants management matters to:

Brian Albertini 
Grants Management Branch
National Institute of Mental Health 
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 6115, MSC 9605 
Bethesda, MD  20892-9605 
Telephone:  (301) 443-0004 
FAX:  (301) 443-0219 
Email:  albertib2@mail.nih.gov 

LETTER OF INTENT

Prospective applicants are asked to submit a letter of intent that includes 
the following information:

o  Descriptive title of the proposed research
o  Name, address, and telephone number of the Principal Investigator
o  Names of other key personnel 
o  Participating institutions
o  Number and title of this RFA

Although a letter of intent is not required, is not binding, and does not 
enter into the review of a subsequent application, the information that it 
contains allows IC staff to estimate the potential review workload and plan 
the review.

The letter of intent is to be sent by the date listed at the beginning of 
this document.  The letter of intent should be sent to:

Farris Tuma, Sc.D.
Division of Mental Disorders, Behavioral Research, and AIDS
National Institute of Mental Health
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 6200, MSC 9617
Bethesda, MD  20892-9589
Telephone:  (301) 443-5944
FAX:  (301) 480-4415
Email:  ftuma@nih.gov

SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION

Applications must be prepared using the PHS 398 research grant application 
instructions and forms (rev. 5/2001).  The PHS 398 is available at 
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/funding/phs398/phs398.html in an interactive 
format.  For further assistance contact GrantsInfo, Telephone (301) 435-0714, 
Email: GrantsInfo@nih.gov.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATIONS IN RESPONSE TO THIS RFA:

1.  Applicants must use the forms for regular research grants and follow the 
specific instructions in the PHS 398 application kit, with the exceptions 
listed below.  Note that the page limitations given in the instructions apply 
to this mechanism.  A complete detailed budget (Form Pages 4 & 5) with 
narrative justifications is required.  Applications that do not conform to 
the specific instructions detailed below will be returned without review.

2.  Application face page:  item number two on this page must include the RFA 
number and the title, Developing Disaster Mental Health Research Capacity 
Through Education.

3.  Description, Performance Sites, and Key Personnel (Form Page 2):  under 
Performance Sites include "Consortium/Contractual Arrangements," with a 
description of plans for collaborating with other institutions for purposes 
of exchange and sharing of resources, including faculty, equipment, and 
facilities.  If multiple sites are to be used, the applicant institution must 
be one of those sites and for other sites a strong justification must be 
included.

4.  Resources (Resources Format Page):  describe the educational environment; 
include a description of the facilities, laboratories, participating 
departments, computer services, and any other resources to be used in the 
conduct of the proposed education program.  Use continuation pages, as 
necessary.

5.  Research Plan:  part "c" of this section should be retitled "Preliminary 
Data and Activities" and included if applicable.  This section should contain 
information on steps that have led to the proposed Research Education 
program.

6.  Research Plan:  part "d" of this section should be retitled " Research 
Education Program Plan" and should contain material organized under the 
following subheadings, as `appropriate to the specific program:

a) Program Direction - describe arrangements for administration of the 
program; provide evidence that the Program Director is actively engaged in 
research and/or teaching in an area related to mental health, and can 
organize and administer the education program, as well as evidence of 
institutional and community commitment and support for the proposed program.

b) Program Faculty/Staff - describe the characteristics and responsibilities 
of the faculty; provide evidence that participating faculty and preceptors 
are actively engaged in research or other scholarly activities related to 
mental health.

c) Proposed Research Education Program - provide programmatic detail on the 
special activities proposed (e.g., courses, curricula), including a 
description of plans to provide education to participants regarding the 
responsible conduct of research.

d) Program Participants - provide detail about the proposed participants; 
include a description of plans for recruiting as participants individuals 
from underrepresented racial/ethnic groups, women and persons with 
disabilities.  Competing continuation applications must include a detailed 
account of experiences in recruiting and retaining individuals from 
underrepresented groups during the previous award period.

e) Research Education Evaluation Plan - include evaluation plans for 
determining success of the program in achieving its goals and objectives.  
Please note that applications that do not have an adequate evaluation plan 
will be considered non-responsive to this RFA.  The inclusion of evaluation 
instruments is encouraged.

f) Provide detail about the commitment, support, cooperation, and nature of 
proposed collaboration of state/local community agencies or other entities or 
settings outside the applicant organization whose support is essential for 
the conduct of the program activities.  Describe plans for implementation of 
the EDUCATION PROGRAM OBJECTIVES, particularly those involving protocol 
development, should include procedures for obtaining and maintaining the 
necessary community relations, IRB review and approval, training and 
supervising project staff, insuring implementation fidelity, securing ongoing 
access to the potential subject population pools, recruiting a  
representative sample of the target population, recruiting minorities for the 
staff of the research intervention, and monitoring subject participation over 
time.

USING THE RFA LABEL:  The RFA label available in the PHS 398 (rev. 5/2001) 
application form must be affixed to the bottom of the face page of the 
application.  Type the RFA number on the label.  Failure to use this label 
could result in delayed processing of the application such that it may not 
reach the review committee in time for review.  In addition, the RFA title 
and number must be typed on line 2 of the face page of the application form 
and the YES box must be marked.  The RFA label is also available at:  
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/funding/phs398/label-bk.pdf.

SENDING AN APPLICATION TO THE NIH:  Submit a signed, typewritten original of 
the application, including the Checklist, and three signed, photocopies, in 
one package to:

Center For Scientific Review
National Institutes Of Health
6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 1040, MSC 7710
Bethesda, MD  20892-7710
Bethesda, MD  20817 (for express/courier service)

At the time of submission, two additional copies of the application must be 
sent to:

Jean G. Noronha, Ph.D.
NIMH Referral Liaison
National Institute of Mental Health
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 6154, MSC 9609
Bethesda, MD  20892-9609
Rockville, MD 20852 (for express/courier service)
Telephone:  (301) 443-3367
FAX:  (301) 443-4720
Email:  jnoronha@mail.nih.gov

APPLICATION PROCESSING:  Applications must be received on or before the 
application receipt date listed in the heading of this RFA.  If an 
application is received after that date, it will be returned to the applicant 
without review.

Although there is no immediate acknowledgement of the receipt of an 
application, applicants are generally notified of the review and funding 
assignment within 8 weeks.

The Center for Scientific Review (CSR) will not accept any application in 
response to this RFA that is essentially the same as one currently pending 
initial review, unless the applicant withdraws the pending application.  
However, when a previously unfunded application, originally submitted as an 
investigator-initiated application, is to be submitted in response to an RFA, 
it is to be prepared as a NEW application.  That is the application for the 
RFA must not include an Introduction describing the changes and improvements 
made, and the text must not be marked to indicate the changes.  While the 
investigator may still benefit from the previous review, the RFA application 
is not to state explicitly how.

PEER REVIEW PROCESS

Upon receipt, applications will be reviewed for completeness by the CSR and 
responsiveness by the NIMH.  Incomplete and/or non-responsive applications 
will be returned to the applicant without further consideration.  
Applications that are complete and responsive to the RFA will be evaluated 
for scientific and technical merit by an appropriate peer review group 
convened by the participating ICs in accordance with the review criteria 
stated below.  As part of the initial merit review, all applications will:

o  Receive a written critique
o  Undergo a process in which only those applications deemed to have the 
highest scientific merit, generally the top half of the applications under 
review, will be discussed and assigned a priority score
o  Receive a second level review by the National Advisory Councils of the 
participating ICs.

REVIEW CRITERIA

Applications in response to this RFA should be characterized by innovation, 
scholarship, and responsiveness to the special and/or changing needs of 
disaster mental health research.  In the written comments, reviewers will be 
asked to discuss the following aspects of your application in order to judge 
the likelihood that the proposed research will have a substantial impact on 
the pursuit of these goals:

o  Significance
o  Approach 
o  Innovation
o  Investigator
o  Environment

(1) SIGNIFICANCE:  Does the proposed research education program address the 
objectives stated in this RFA and the overall mission of the NIMH and NINR?

(2) APPROACH:  Are the proposed specialized curriculum, educational 
experiences, and collaborations with state/local public health programs 
appropriate and adequate to achieve the research education goals outlined.  
Are the course requirements and sequence, including mentored experiences and 
collaborations, and timetable for completing the planned activities also 
appropriate.  Is there an adequate plan for evaluating the effectiveness of 
the program in achieving its objectives?

(3) INNOVATION:  Do the curriculum, educational, and collaborative plans 
include original and unique approaches or methods for addressing the needs 
put forth in the goals and objectives? Are plans to challenge existing 
paradigms or develop new approaches or techniques for improving disaster 
mental health research and practice described?

(4) INVESTIGATOR:  Does the program leadership demonstrate a record of 
achievements and are their qualifications appropriate to meeting the proposed 
goals and implementing the stated plan?

(5) ENVIRONMENT:  Is the scientific/education environment described, 
indicating the unique features and probability of success of the program?  Is 
institutional commitment to the proposed program documented?  If multiple 
sites are to be used, is this adequately justified in terms of the 
educational and collaborative experiences provided?  Are plans provided for 
the coordination and communication between multiple sites and state/local 
collaborators?

ADDITIONAL REVIEW CRITERIA:  In addition to the above criteria, your 
application will also be reviewed with respect to the following:

PROTECTION OF HUMAN SUBJECTS FROM RESEARCH RISK:  The involvement of human 
subjects and protections from research risk relating to their participation 
in the proposed research will be assessed.  (See criteria included in the 
section on Federal Citations, below).
 
INCLUSION OF WOMEN, MINORITIES AND CHILDREN IN RESEARCH:  The adequacy of 
plans to include subjects from both genders, all racial and ethnic groups 
(and subgroups), and children as appropriate for the scientific goals of the 
research.  Plans for the recruitment and retention of subjects will also be 
evaluated.  (See Inclusion Criteria in the sections on Federal Citations, 
below).

o  BUDGET:  The reasonableness of the proposed budget and the requested 
period of support in relation to the proposed educational research program.

RECEIPT AND REVIEW SCHEDULE

Letter of Intent Receipt Date:    May 16, 2003
Application Receipt Date:         June 13, 2003
Peer Review Date:                 October 2003
Council Review:                   January 2004
Earliest Anticipated Start Date:  March 1, 2004

AWARD CRITERIA

Award criteria that will be used to make award decisions include:

o  Scientific merit (as determined by peer review)
o  Availability of funds
o  Programmatic priorities

REQUIRED FEDERAL CITATIONS

HUMAN SUBJECTS PROTECTION:  Federal regulations (45CFR46) require that 
applications and proposals involving human subjects must be evaluated with 
reference to the risks to the subjects, the adequacy of protection against 
these risks, the potential benefits of the research to the subjects and 
others, and the importance of the knowledge gained or to be gained.

MONITORING PLAN AND DATA AND SAFETY MONITORING BOARD:  Research components 
involving Phase I and II clinical trials must include provisions for 
assessment of patient eligibility and status, rigorous data management, 
quality assurance, and auditing procedures.  In addition, it is NIH policy 
that all clinical trials require data and safety monitoring, with the method 
and degree of monitoring being commensurate with the risks (NIH Policy for 
Data and Safety Monitoring, NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts, June 12, 
1998:  http://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/notice-files/not98-084.html).

INCLUSION OF WOMEN AND MINORITIES IN CLINICAL RESEARCH:  It is the policy of 
the NIH that women and members of minority groups and their sub-populations 
must be included in all NIH-supported clinical research projects unless a 
clear and compelling justification is provided indicating that inclusion is 
inappropriate with respect to the health of the subjects or the purpose of 
the research.  This policy results from the NIH Revitalization Act of 1993 
(Section 492B of Public Law 103-43).

All investigators proposing clinical research should read the "NIH Guidelines 
for Inclusion of Women and Minorities as Subjects in Clinical Research - 
Amended, October, 2001," published in the NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts 
on October 9, 2001 (http://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/notice-files/
NOT-OD-02-001.html); a complete copy of the updated Guidelines are 
available at http://grants.nih.gov/grants/funding/women_min/
guidelines_amended_10_2001.htm.  The amended policy incorporates:  the use 
of an NIH definition of clinical research; updated racial and ethnic categories 
in compliance with the new OMB standards; clarification of language governing 
NIH-defined Phase III clinical trials consistent with the new PHS Form 398; 
and updated roles and responsibilities of NIH staff and the extramural 
community.  The policy continues to require for all NIH-defined Phase III 
clinical trials that:  a) all applications or proposals and/or protocols must 
provide a description of plans to conduct analyses, as appropriate, to address 
differences by sex/gender and/or racial/ethnic groups, including subgroups if 
applicable; and b) investigators must report annual accrual and progress in 
conducting analyses, as appropriate, by sex/gender and/or racial/ethnic group 
differences.

INCLUSION OF CHILDREN AS PARTICIPANTS IN RESEARCH INVOLVING HUMAN SUBJECTS:  
The NIH maintains a policy that children (i.e., individuals under the age of 
21) must be included in all human subjects research, conducted or supported 
by the NIH, unless there are scientific and ethical reasons not to include 
them.  This policy applies to all initial (Type 1) applications submitted for 
receipt dates after October 1, 1998.

All investigators proposing research involving human subjects should read the 
"NIH Policy and Guidelines" on the inclusion of children as participants in 
research involving human subjects that is available at 
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/funding/children/children.htm.

REQUIRED EDUCATION ON THE PROTECTION OF HUMAN SUBJECT PARTICIPANTS:  NIH 
policy requires education on the protection of human subject participants for 
all investigators submitting NIH proposals for research involving human 
subjects.  You will find this policy announcement in the NIH Guide for Grants 
and Contracts Announcement, dated June 5, 2000, at 
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/notice-files/NOT-OD-00-039.html.

PUBLIC ACCESS TO RESEARCH DATA THROUGH THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT:  The 
Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-110 has been revised to 
provide public access to research data through the Freedom of Information Act 
(FOIA) under some circumstances.  Data that are (1) first produced in a 
project that is supported in whole or in part with Federal funds and (2) 
cited publicly and officially by a Federal agency in support of an action 
that has the force and effect of law (i.e., a regulation) may be accessed 
through FOIA.  It is important for applicants to understand the basic scope 
of this amendment.  NIH has provided guidance at 
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/policy/a110/a110_guidance_dec1999.htm.

Applicants may wish to place data collected under this PA in a public 
archive, which can provide protections for the data and manage the 
distribution for an indefinite period of time.  If so, the application should 
include a description of the archiving plan in the study design and include 
information about this in the budget justification section of the 
application.  In addition, applicants should think about how to structure 
informed consent statements and other human subjects procedures given the 
potential for wider use of data collected under this award.

URLs IN NIH GRANT APPLICATIONS OR APPENDICES:  All applications and proposals 
for NIH funding must be self-contained within specified page limitations.  
Unless otherwise specified in an NIH solicitation, Internet addresses (URLs) 
should not be used to provide information necessary to the review because 
reviewers are under no obligation to view the Internet sites.  Furthermore, 
we caution reviewers that their anonymity may be compromised when they 
directly access an Internet site.

HEALTHY PEOPLE 2010:  The Public Health Service (PHS) is committed to 
achieving the health promotion and disease prevention objectives of "Healthy 
People 2010," a PHS-led national activity for setting priority areas.  This 
RFA is related to one or more of the priority areas.  Potential applicants 
may obtain a copy of "Healthy People 2010" at 
http://www.health.gov/healthypeople.

AUTHORITY AND REGULATIONS:  This program is described in the Catalog of 
Federal Domestic Assistance at http://www.cfda.gov/ and is not subject to the 
intergovernmental review requirements of Executive Order 12372 or Health 
Systems Agency review.  Awards are made under the authorization of Sections 
301 and 405 of the Public Health Service Act as amended (42 USC 241 and 284) 
and under Federal Regulations 42 CFR 52 and 45 CFR Parts 74 and 92.  All 
awards are subject to the terms and conditions, cost principles, and other 
considerations described in the NIH Grants Policy Statement.  The NIH Grants 
Policy Statement can be found at 
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/policy/policy.htm.

The PHS strongly encourages all grant recipients to provide a smoke-free 
workplace and discourage the use of all tobacco products.  In addition, 
Public Law 103-227, the Pro-Children Act of 1994, prohibits smoking in 
certain facilities (or in some cases, any portion of a facility) in which 
regular or routine education, library, day care, health care, or early 
childhood development services are provided to children.  This is consistent 
with the PHS mission to protect and advance the physical and mental health of 
the American people.

Return to Volume Index

Return to NIH Guide Main Index

	Office of Extramural Research (OER)			National Institutes of Health (NIH) 9000 Rockville Pike Bethesda, Maryland 20892			Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
Note: For help accessing PDF, RTF, MS Word, Excel, PowerPoint, RealPlayer, Video or Flash files, see Help Downloading Files.