

NEWS FROM NOAA

NATIONAL OCEANIC & ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION • US DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Contact: Susan Buchanan FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(301) 713-2370 June 25, 2007

NOAA ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENTS OF REGIONAL FISHERY COUNCIL MEMBERS

The Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 19 members to the eight regional fishery management councils. The councils, established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, prepare fishery management plans for marine fish stocks in their respective geographical areas of responsibility.

"Council members are a key part of the fisheries management process and it is vital that each council is comprised of knowledgeable people representing a variety of interests," said Bill Hogarth, director of NOAA Fisheries Service. "I am pleased to present this group of highly qualified and dedicated individuals to serve on the eight regional fishery management councils."

Council members represent diverse interests, including commercial and recreational fisheries, as well as environmental, academic and other interests from each geographic area. The secretary of commerce appoints a total of 72 obligatory and at-large members to the eight regional councils. Council members serve three-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to three consecutive terms. Approximately one-third of the terms expire annually.

Each year on behalf of the secretary, the director of NOAA Fisheries Service solicits nominations from the governors of fishing states, and oversees the annual appointment process. The secretary selects council members from the list of nominees provided by the governors to fill obligatory and at-large seats that have become available due to an expiring term, a resignation or other reason. Obligatory seats are state-specific, while at-large seats are regional in scope.

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. The appointees for 2007 fill an obligatory seat for New Hampshire and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

*David T. Goethel – New Hampshire

At-large seats:

*Colin M. "Rip" Cunningham, Jr. – Massachusetts

Francis W. Blount - Rhode Island

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The appointees for 2007 fill an obligatory seat for Delaware and three at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

Lee G. Anderson – Delaware

At-large seats:

Erling A. Berg – New Jersey *Lawrence W. Simns – Maryland Richard B. Robins, Jr. – Virginia

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. The appointees for 2007 fill obligatory seats for North Carolina and South Carolina.

Obligatory seats:

*Rita G. Merritt – North Carolina Thomas L.Swatzel. III – South Carolina

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The appointee for 2007 fills one at-large seat.

At-large seat:

Winston J. Ledee - U.S. Virgin Islands

Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from the states of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. The appointees for 2007 fill obligatory seats for Mississippi and Texas and one atlarge seat.

Obligatory seats:

H. Kay Williams – Mississippi Michael S. Ray –Texas

At-large seat:

*Julie K. Morris - Florida

Pacific Council

The Pacific Council includes members from the states of California, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. The appointees for 2007 fill an obligatory seat for Idaho and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seat:

*David W. Ortmann - Idaho

At-large seat:

Danny L. Wolford - California

North Pacific Council

The North Pacific Council includes members from the states of Alaska and Washington. The appointees for 2007 fill obligatory seats for Alaska.

Obligatory seats:

Duncan S. Fields – Alaska Samuel R. Cotten – Alaska

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from the American-flagged Pacific islands of American Samoa and Guam, the state of Hawaii and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The appointees for 2007 fill two at-large seats.

At-large seats: William A. Sword – American Samoa Peter T. Young – Hawaii

*Reappointment

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, an agency of the U.S. Commerce Department, is celebrating 200 years of science and service to the nation. From the establishment of the Survey of the Coast in 1807 by Thomas Jefferson to the formation of the Weather Bureau and the Commission of Fish and Fisheries in the 1870s, much of America's scientific heritage is rooted in NOAA.

NOAA is dedicated to enhancing economic security and national safety through the prediction and research of weather and climate-related events and information service delivery for transportation, and by providing environmental stewardship of our nation's coastal and marine resources. Through the emerging Global Earth Observation System of Systems (GEOSS), NOAA is working with its federal partners, more than 60 countries and the European Commission to develop a global monitoring network that is as integrated as the planet it observes, predicts and protects.

###

NOAA Fisheries Service: www.nmfs.noaa.gov

NOAA: www.noaa.gov

The 2006 Report to Congress on Apportionment of Membership on the Regional Fishery

Management Councils is available on the Internet at: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/reg svcs/councils.htm