Environmental Justice Task Force

<u>Senate Bill 420</u> calls for environmental justice in Oregon by ensuring that all persons affected by decisions of natural resource agencies have a voice in those decisions. At the same time, the bill set up a task force to advise the Governor and natural resource agencies on environmental justice issues.

The new advisory body consists of 12 members and is staffed by Governor Kulongoski's office. The task force selected Robin Collin as chair and Khalid Wahab as vice chair. Both positions are temporary through the end of 2008 while the group establishes goals and objectives for moving forward.

The task force will submit an annual report to the Governor setting forth its view of the progress of natural resource agencies toward achieving the environmental justice goals outlined in <u>Senate Bill 420</u>.

Governor Kulongoski appointed the following members to the task force (Note: With the exception of the Commissions, affiliations are listed for identification purposes only.):

Chair, Robin Collin – Willamette University

Vice Chair, Khalid Wahab – The Commission on Asian Affairs

Sybil Ackerman – Executive Director of Lazar Foundation

Bob Collin – Willamette University

Ben Duncan – Multnomah County Health Department

Terry Witt – Oregonians for Food and Shelter

Jack Johnson – Resident of Union County

Jonathon Ostarn – Organizing People-Activating Leaders (OPAL)

Julie Samples – Oregon Law Center (Farmworker Program)

Everette Rice – The Commission on Black Affairs

Ray Caballero – The Commission on Hispanic Affairs

Leroy Jackson – The Commission on Indian Services