U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Logo
Skip to Main Content
Grants Process & Data
Grant Application Basics
Grants Process Overview
Types of Grant Programs
How to Apply
Peer Review Process
Award Management
NIH Financial Operations
Award Information & Data
Electronic Grants
Electronic Research Administration (eRA)
eRA Commons
Applying Electronically
Global OER Resources
Glossary & Acronyms
Frequently Used Links
Frequent Questions
The Presidential Early Career Award for
Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) Program

Program description:

In February 1996, the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC), was commissioned by President Clinton to create an award program that would honor and support the extraordinary achievements of young professionals at the outset of their independent research careers in the fields of science and technology. The Presidential Award embodies the high priority placed by the government on maintaining the leadership position of the United States in science by producing outstanding scientists and engineers who will broadly advance science and the missions important to the participating agencies.

The Presidential Awards are intended to recognize and nurture some of the finest scientists and engineers who, while early in their research careers, show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge during the twenty-first century. The Awards will first and foremost support the continued development of the awardees, foster innovative and far-reaching developments in science and technology, increase awareness of careers in science and engineering, give recognition to the scientific missions of participating agencies, enhance connections between fundamental research and national goals, and highlight the importance of science and technology for the nation's future.

The Presidential Award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers. The White House following recommendations from participating agencies will confer the awards annually. To be eligible for a Presidential Award, an individual must be a U.S. citizen, national or permanent resident. Each Presidential Award will be of five years duration. Selection criteria and processes are dependent upon the agency.

The participating agencies are:

National Science Foundation
National Science and Technology Council
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Environmental Protection Agency
Department of Agriculture
Department of Commerce
Department of Defense
Department of Energy
Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health
Department of Transportation
Department of Veterans Affairs


Katerina Akassoglou (NINDS – Extramural)  University of California, San Diego
For pioneering research that fibrinogen inhibits nerve regeneration and can directly affect neuronal function and glial cells. (website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Jeanmarie Houghton (NCI – Extramural) University of Massachusetts
For outstanding research showing that Helicobacter infection induces an inflammation within the stomach that attracts bone marrow derived stem cells, which differentiate inappropriately into meta- and dys-plastic epithelial cells and eventually act as cancer initiating cells. (website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Jay R. Hove (NCRR – Extramural) University of Cincinnati
In recognition for research in bringing global quantitative flow visualization to vertebrate embryos. (website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Sven-Eric Jordt (NIEHS – Extramural) Yale University
For outstanding research on the effects of environmental irritants in airway diseases and inflammation. (website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Susan M. Keach (NIAID – Extramural) Yale University
In recognition for characterizing the development of memory T cells in long term immune protection.(website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Bruce D. McCandliss (NIDCD – Extramural) Cornell University
For exceptional developmental research in language function and disorders using cognitive neuroscience techniques. (website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Alexandra C. McPherron (NIDDK – Intramural) National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
For outstanding research in regulation of muscle growth. (website)

Gus R. Rosania (NIGMS – Extramural) University of Michigan
In recognition for the development of experimental and computational tools for developing drugs targeted to specific subcellular compartments. (website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

J. Peter Rubin (NCI – Extramural) University of Pittsburgh
For development of new techniques in breast reconstruction after cancer treatment. (website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Ravindra N. Singh (NINDS – Extramural) Iowa State University
For the correction of a spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) gene through a novel target located within the non-coding sequence.(website)  Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Michelle P. Winn (NIDDK – Extramural) Duke University
For the discovery of TRPC6 as a cause for familial kidney disease, characterizing several large pedigrees with familial kidney disease.(website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer

Adam T. Woolley (NIBIB – Extramural) Brigham Young University
For development in constructing polymeric micro fluidic systems for fabrication of low-cost devices for protein analysis.(website) Link to Non-U.S. Government Site - Click for Disclaimer


2006 Pecase Awardees
[Archive of Previous Years' PECASE Awardees]  

Note: For help accessing PDF, RTF, MS Word, Excel, PowerPoint, RealPlayer, Video or Flash files, see Help Downloading Files.