Your browser doesn't support JavaScript. Please upgrade to a modern browser or enable JavaScript in your existing browser.
Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality

National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality

The National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality provides advice and recommendations to the Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), and to the Secretary, Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), on priorities for a national health services research agenda.


The 21-member panel is comprised of private-sector experts who contribute a varied perspective on the health care system and the most important questions that AHRQ's research should address in order to promote improvements in the quality, outcomes, and cost-effectiveness of clinical practice. The private-sector members represent health care plans, providers, purchasers, consumers, and researchers.

Also serving in an ex-officio capacity are principal representatives of seven Federal agencies that address health care system issues: The National Institutes of Health (NIH); the Department of Defense (Health Affairs) (DoD); the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA); the Office of Personnel Management (OPM); the Food and Drug Administration (FDA); the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS, formerly the Health Care Financing Administration [HCFA]); and the Assistant Secretary for Health.

Private-sector members are appointed by the Secretary, HHS, to serve 3-year terms. A list of current members follows. Biographies are available as a group or individually by selecting the member's name.


Council meetings are open to the public. Meetings are usually held at the AHRQ Conference Center, First Floor, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD, 20850. Select for Map and Directions. Please check the Federal Register Notice of Public Meeting to confirm location.


Jane F. Barlow, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A. (2009)
Vice President
Medical Strategy & Clinical Quality
Medco Health Solutions, Inc.
100 Parsons Pond Drive, Mailstop F2-16
Franklin Lakes, NJ 07417
Phone: (201) 269-3539

Dale W. Bratzler, D.O., M.P.H. (2008)
QIOSC Medical Director
Oklahoma Foundation for Medical Quality, Inc.
14000 Quail Springs Parkway, Suite 400
Oklahoma City, OK 73134
Phone: (405) 840-2891 X209
Fax: (405) 840-1343

Timothy J. Brei, M.D. (2009)
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
The James Whitcomb Riley Hospital for Children
702 Barnhill Drive, Room 1601
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5200
Phone: (317) 274-4846
Fax: (317) 278-0126

Patricia Flatley Brennan, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., F.A.C.M.I. (2008)
Moehlman Professor of Nursing and Industrial Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
600 Highland Avenue H6/241
Madison, WI 53792
Phone: (608) 263-5251
Fax: (608) 263-5251

Andrew J. Fishmann, M.D., F.C.C.P., F.A.C.P. (2009)
Director, Intensive Care Unit
Good Samaritan Hospital
California Lung Associates
1245 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 407
Los Angeles, CA 90017
Phone: (213) 977-4979
Fax: (213) 977-0544

Robert S. Galvin, M.D. (2010)
Director, Global Health Care
General Electric
376 Hillside Road
Fairfield, CT 06824
Phone: (203) 373-3435

M. Carolina Hinestrosa, M.A., M.P.H. (2009)
Executive Vice President, Programs and Planning
National Breast Cancer Coalition
1101 17th Street, NW, Suite 1300
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 973-0575
Fax: (202) 265-6854

Ada Sue Hinshaw, Ph.D., R.N. (2008)
2006 Nurse Scholar
National Academy of Sciences
500 Fifth Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: (202) 334-2000

Carlos Roberto Jaen, M.D., Ph.D., FAAFP (2008)
Co-Director, Center for Research in Family Medicine and Primary Care
The Dr. John M Smith, Jr, Professor & Chairman
Department of Family & Community Medicine
University of Texas Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, Texas, 78229-3900
Phone: (210) 567-4553
Fax: (210) 567-4579

Brent C. James, M.D. (2008)
Vice President for Medical Research
Executive Director, Institute for Health Care Delivery Research
Intermountain Health Care
36 South State Street, 16th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111-1486
Phone: (801) 442-3730
Fax: (801) 442-3486

Wishwa N. Kapoor, M.D., M.P.H. (2010)
School of Medicine
University of Pittsburgh
200 Lothrop Street, Suite 933W-MUH
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: (412) 692-4821

Munr Kazmir, M.D. (2008)
Founder, Direct Meds, Inc.
345 Grand Avenue
Leonia, NJ 07605
Phone: (201) 585-9234
Fax: 9202) 585-7950

Kathleen Lohr, Ph.D. (2010)
Distinguished Fellow, Health Services Research
RTI International
PO Box 12194
3040 Cornwallis Road
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-2194
Phone: (919) 541-6512

Thomas P. Miller, J.D. (2009)
American Enterprise Institute
1150 Seventeenth Street, N.W
Washington, D.C. 20036
Phone: (202) 862-5886
Fax: (202) 828-7177

Neil R. Powe, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A. (2009)
Director, Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology & Clinical Research
Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology and Health Policy & Management
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
and Bloomberg School of Public Health
2024 E. Monument Street, Suite 2-600
Baltimore, MD 21287-2223
Phone: (410) 955-6953
Fax: (410) 955-0476

Michael K. Raymond, M.D. (2010)
Chief Medical Officer
Rush North Shore Medical Center
9600 Goss Point Road
Skokie, IL 60076
Phone: (847) 933-6007

James J. Rohack, M.D., F.A.C.C., F.A.C.P. (2008)
Senior Staff Cardiologist
Medical Director, Scott & White Health Plan
Scott & White Clinic
2401 South 31st Street
Temple, TX 76508
Phone: (254) 724-4258
Fax: (254) 724-0720

David L. Shern, Ph.D. (2010)
President and CEO
National Mental Health Association
2600 North Beauregard Street, 6th Floor
Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone: (703) 838-7500

William Smith, Pharm.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., F.A.S.H.P. (2010)
Executive Associate Dean
School of Pharmacy
Virginia Commonwealth University
Smith Building, Suite 155
Richmond VA 23298-0581
Phone: (804) 828-3009

Myrl Weinberg, CAE (2010)
President, National Health Council
1730 M. Street, NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 785-3910

Anthony C. Wisniewski, J.D. (2009)
Executive Director, Health Policy
U.S. Chamber of Commerce
1615 H Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: (202) 463-5500

NAC Coordinator:

Deborah Queenan
540 Gaither Road
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: (301) 427-1330
Fax: (301) 427-1341

Current as of July 2008

Internet Citation:

National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality. July 2008. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care