American Time Use Survey — Activity Coding Lexicons

The ATUS Activity Coding Lexicon is a 3-tiered classification system with 17 first-tier categories. Each of the first-tier categories has two additional levels of detail. Respondents' reported activities are assigned 6-digit activity codes based on this classification system. Activity codes are periodically evaluated and updated prior to the start of each year’s data collection. This page contains links to the ATUS Activity Coding Lexicons.

2003 to 2007 Coding documentation

  • Differences between the 2003 to 2007 lexicons (PDF)
  • Method for combining activity codes that changed from 2003 to 2007 (PDF)

ATUS Activity Coding Lexicons:


Last Modified Date: June 25, 2008