NSF DIVISION OF MATERIALS RESEARCH ANNOUNCES AMERICAN COMPETITIVENESS AND INNOVATION FELLOWS

The Division of Materials Research (DMR) of the National Science Foundation has instituted a new recognition program for its current grantees who have demonstrated a combination of transformative research accomplishments and outstanding contributions toward education, mentoring, and broadening participation of women, underrepresented minorities, and people with disabilities.

This recognition is called the American Competitiveness and Innovation (ACI) Fellowship and is being awarded based on recommendations from DMR Program Directors. The ACI Fellows will receive a monetary supplement to their current grants, and will have those grants extended for two additional years "for <u>Special Creativity</u>". The objective of such extensions is to offer an enhanced capability to attack adventurous, "high-risk" opportunities in the same general research area, but not necessarily covered by the original/current proposal.

The 2008 ACI Fellows from the Division of Materials Research are:

- Professor <u>Richard K. Brow</u>, Department of Ceramic Engineering, Missouri University of Science and Technology, "for his transformative research on glasses and his steady contribution to the mentoring and training of young women in materials science and engineering at both the undergraduate and graduate levels".
- Professor <u>Miguel Garcia-Garibay</u>, Department of Chemistry, University of California Los Angeles, "for his research on electro-optic materials based on molecular compasses and gyroscopes and his teaching, training, and outreach support to women and underrepresented minorities from high-school students and teachers to postdoctoral scholars".
- Professor <u>Pupa Gilbert</u>, Department of Physics, University of Wisconsin Madison, "for her application of novel methodology to the determination of the structures and synthetic pathways of mineralized biological tissues and for exceptional skill in bringing the fascination of science to a wide audience involving non-science students and the general public".
- Professor <u>Sossina M. Haile</u>, Department of Materials Science, California Institute of Technology, "for her timely and transformative research in the energy field and her dedication to inclusive mentoring, education and outreach across many levels."
- Professor John Bradley Marsten, Department of Physics, Brown University, "for his transformative interdisciplinary research harnessing the methods of theoretical condensed matter physics to attack climate modeling and the

exceptional interdisciplinary educational opportunities that derive for the mentoring of his students."

- Professor <u>Jagadeesh S. Moodera</u>, Francis Bitter Magnetic Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, "for his achievements and world-leading role in the field of spintronics and his dedication to diversity while educating the next generation of scientific and technological leaders of the world."
- Professor John E. Morral, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Ohio State University, "for transformative and pioneering experimental and theoretical approaches to alloys by design, and for exceptional contributions to disseminating knowledge to students and the community."
- Professor <u>Phillip W. Phillips</u>, Department of Physics, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, "for his creative interdisciplinary contributions to fundamental condensed-matter science including new understanding in strong correlation physics in materials, and for his role in promoting education and international activities."
- Professor <u>Myriam P. Sarachik</u>, Department of Physics, The City University of New York, "for her outstanding research on single molecular magnets and her exemplary efforts in enabling the participation of a broader community in U.S. science."
- Professor <u>Nicola A. Spaldin</u>, Department of Materials, University of California Santa Barbara, "for her creative integration of fundamental science and modern computational methods for the discovery of new materials and the elucidation of phenomena at the nanoscale, and for her role in promoting education and international activities."
- Professor <u>Yuri Suzuki</u>, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of California Berkeley, "for her innovative research on novel magnetic heterostructures, and her exceptional contributions to broader impacts, particularly the integration of research and education involving graduate, undergraduate, and high-school students."
- Professor <u>Karen L. Wooley</u>, Department of Chemistry, Washington University Saint Louis, "for her transformative research on shell-crosslinked nanoparticles and her exceptional contributions on broader impacts, particularly in K-12 education."

The Division of Materials Research offers its heartiest congratulations to its new ACI Fellows.