Bay Area Air Quality Management District 939 Ellis Street San Francisco, California 94109 (415) 771-6000

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Climate Protection Committee Immediately Following Executive Committee Meeting Thursday, September 13, 2007

1. Call to Order - Roll Call: Chair Pamela Torliatt called the meeting to order at 11:55 a.m.

Present: Pamela Torliatt, Chair, Chris Daly, Scott Haggerty, Yoriko Kishimoto, Jake

McGoldrick.

Absent: Tom Bates, Erin Garner, John Gioia, Gayle B. Uilkema.

Also Present: Board Chair Mark Ross.

2. Public Comment Period: The following individual spoke:

Julia May CBE

Regarding AB 32 and green house gas emissions.

- **3. Approval of Minutes of July 19, 2007:** Director Haggerty moved approval of the minutes; seconded by Director Daly; carried unanimously without objection.
- **4. Status Report on AB 32 Implementation:** The Committee deferred this agenda item to a future meeting.
- 5. Status Report on Air District Climate Protection Activities: The Committee deferred this agenda item to a future meeting.
- 6. Consideration of Climate Protection Grant Program Guidelines: The Committee considered recommending Board of Directors' approval of proposed guidelines for the Air District's Climate Protection Grant Program.

Abby Young, Principal Environmental Planner, presented the report and reviewed the Climate Protection Grant Program goals and objectives. Ms. Young provided an overview of the program categories, the application procedures, and the evaluation criteria. There will be an

extensive, on-going, outreach effort to announce the program, which will include several workshops. The grant program timeline includes an application deadline of November 9, 2007, recommendations to the Board of Directors in December 2007, and the grant awards would be finalized in January or February 2008. Staff recommended that the Committee recommend Board of Directors approval of the Climate Protection Grant Program Guidelines.

The Committee briefly discussed different aspects of the outreach campaign.

Committee Action: Director Kishimoto moved the staff recommendation; seconded by Director McGoldrick; carried unanimously without objection.

- 7. **Committee Members' Comments:** There were none.
- **8. Time and Place of Next Meeting:** At the Call of the Chair.
- **9. Adjournment:** The meeting was adjourned at 12:19 p.m.

/s/ Mary Romaidis
Mary Romaidis
Clerk of the Boards