Skip Navigation

Advisory Committee on Blood Safety and Availability

Membership Roster

Chair: Arthur W. Bracey, M.D.
         Associate Chief
         Depatment of Pathology
         St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital
         6720 Bertner Avenue, MC 4-265
         Houston, TX 77030
         Term: 09/30/04 to 09/30/07
                  05/29/08 to 05/29/09


Richard J. Benjamin, MBChB, Ph.D.
Chief Medical Officer
American Red Cross Blood Services
National Headquarters
2025 E Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
Term: 05/29/08 to 12/01/08

Ann Marie Benzinger
Alpha-1 Advocacy Alliance
Post Office Box 182
Wolftown, VA
Term: 03/01/07 to 03/01/10

Julie Birkofer
Executive Director, North America
Plasma Protein Therapeutics Association
147 Old Solomons Island Rd., #100
Annapolis, Md. 21401
Term: 12/01/05 to 12/01/08

M. Gregg Bloche, M.D., J.D.
Professor of Law Georgetown University
Adjunct Professional, Johns Hopkins University
Visiting Fellow The Brookings Institution
600 New Jersey Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001
Term: 12/01/05 to 12/01/08

William Duffell, Jr., Ph.D.
Sr. Vice President, Global Government Affairs Gambro
652 Wilds Cove Road
Franklin, NC 28734
Term: 12/01/05 to 12/01/08

Anne Marie Finley
Biotech Policy Group LLC
2776 S. Arlington Mill Drive, Suite 808
Arlington, VA 22206
Term: 03/01/07 to 03/01/10

Charles E. Haley, M.D., M.S.
Medicare Medical Director and Fiscal Intermediary Medical Director
TrailBlazer Health Enterprises, LLC
Executive Center III
8330 LBJ Freeway
Dallas, TX 75243-1213
Term: 05/29/08 to 05/29/11

Michael G. Ison, M.D., M.S
Assistant Professor
Division of Infectious Diseases and Organ Transplantation
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
Transplant & Immunocompromised Host Infectious Diseases Service
645 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 900
Chicago, IL 60611
Term: 05/29/08 to 05/29/12

Peter Kouides, M.D.
Research Director
Mary M. Gooley Hemophilia Center, Inc
1425 Portland Avenue
Rochester, NY 14621
Term: 03/01/07 to 03/01/10

Ileana Lopez-Plaza, M.D.
11 Nantucket Place
Grafton, MA 01519
Term: 03/01/07 to 03/01/10

David E. Matyas, Esq.
Epstein Becker & Green, PC
1227 25th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
Term: 12/01/05 to 12/01/08

Klaus Nether
Associate Project Director
Division of Standards and Survey Methods
The Joint Commission
One Renaissance Boulevard
Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181
Term: 05/29/08 to 05/29/12

Glenn Pierce, M.D., Ph.D.
445 Francisco St. Apt. 602
San Francisco, CA. 94133
Term: 12/01/05 to 12/01/07
         12/01/07 to 12/01/09

Gregory J. Pomper, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pathology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Department of Pathology
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1072
Term: 05/29/08 to 05/29/12

Glenn Ramsey, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pathology
Feinburg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
251 E Huron Street, F7-301
Chicago, IL. 60611
Term: 12/01/05 to 12/01/08

Linda Thomas-Wade
Executive Director
Sickle Cell of Association of Austin
Marc Thomas Chapter
314 E. Highland Mall Blvd., #108
Austin, TX. 78752
Term: 12/01/05 to 12/01/09

Darrell J. Triulzi, M.D.
Medical Director
Centralized Transfusion Service
Institute for Transfusion Medicine
3636 Boulevard of the Allies
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Term: 03/01/07 to 03/01/10

Non-Voting Ex Officio Members

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Matthew J. Kuehnert, M.D.
Associate Director for Blood Safety
National Center for Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
1600 Clifton Road, Building 1, MS A30
Atlanta, GA 30333

Food and Drug Administration
Jay S. Epstein, M.D.
Office of Blood Research and Review
Food and Drug Administration
1401 Rockville Pike, HFM-300
Rockville, MD 20852

National Institutes of Health
Harvey Klein, M.D.
Division of Transfusion Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Building 10, Room 1C711
10 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-1184

Department of Defense
CDR Michael Libby
Armed Services Blood Program Office
Department of Defense
5109 Leesburg Pike, Room 698
Falls Church, VA 22041

Center for Medicare and Medicade Services
James S. Bowman, III, M.D.
Medical Officer
Chronic Care Policy Group
CMS/CMM/CCPG Mail Stop C5-02-23
7500 Security Blvd.
Baltimore, MD 21244

Food and Drug Administration
Laura St. Martin, M.D., M.P.H.
FDA/CBER/OCTGT/Division of Human Tissue
1401 Rockville Pike, Suite 200S
Rockville, Md. 20852

Health Resources and Services Administration
Elizabeth Ortiz-Rios, M.D., M.P.H
Chief Medical Officer
Division of Transplantation
Parklawn Bldg, Room 12C-06
5600 Fisher Lane
Rockville, MD 20857