THE CHAIRMAN'S CORNER



Friday, March 18, 2005

MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRMAN

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2004 Employee Awards. These awards epitomize the commitment that the NTSB staff has to the mission of the Board - safety in all modes of transportation. We also honored two employees whose passing left a great void. Deputy General Counsel **David Bass** and Senior Aviation Safety Investigator **Tom Conroy** together spent 40 years in service to the Board, and their enthusiasm, expertise and dedication will be greatly missed.

The celebration of the NTSB's 30 years as a separate, independent agency highlighted the importance of the work of the Safety Board. Independence is a critical part of our capability to support our mission of accident investigation and issuing safety recommendations. With over 12,000 safety recommendations to date and a greater than 80% implementation rate, we are making a difference. The publication of *"Lessons Learned, Lives Saved"* (available on our website) highlights many of the permanent safety changes that have resulted due to the NTSB.

The meeting of the members of the Chairmen of the International Transportation Safety Association was a productive discussion on the intermodal, international and interconnected nature of safety investigations. Meeting with my colleagues from nine other nations greatly supported our ability to focus on the shared important safety issues around the world.

Ellen Engleman Conners

Board Celebrates 30 Years of Independence

The National Transportation Safety Board celebrated 30 years as a separate, independent agency on March 15th in its Washington, DC Board Room and Conference Center. Employees, guests and distinguished visitors gathered to note the 30 years since the 1974 Independent Safety Board Act was enacted. Secretary of Transportation Norman Y. Mineta, Chairman Engleman Conners, FAA Administrator and former NTSB Chairman Marion Blakey, Congressman Bud Schuster, Chairman of the House T&I Committee, and former NTSB Chairmen Jim Burnett and Jim Hall addressed the crowd of nearly 200. Chairman Engleman Conners also read words of congratulations from President George W. Bush and the NTSB's first Chairman John Reed.



Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta speaks to the audience at the NTSB's 30-year celebration.

In the Independent Safety Board Act, Congress noted that a separate independent Safety Board was vital because the Board must make conclusions and recommendations critical of agencies and their officials.

NTSB Hosts International Transportation Safety Group



Members of International Transportation Safety Association during their visit to the NTSB Academy.

The 11th annual Chairman's meeting of the International Transportation Safety Association (ITSA) was held March 16 -18 in Washington, DC. ITSA is an association of independent organizations whose goal is "to improve transportation safety in each member country by learning from the experiences of others." ITSA members include representatives from Australia, Canada, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Finland, India, Holland, New Zealand, Sweden, Taiwan and the United States.

NTSB Chairman Engleman Conners was named 2005 ITSA Chairman at the previous meeting in Apeldoorn, Holland, and will serve as Chairman for one year. The next meeting of ITSA will be held in Canberra, Australia.

NTSB ALL HANDS MESSAGES



The NTSB Academy has recently streamlined the registration process as part of the President's e-gov initiative. Tuition-paying course applicants can now register on-line through the U.S. Treasury Department's financial Management service, PAY.GOV. The program

was launched on March 16th. Special Thanks to Linda Harradine, Kathleen Chu-Wun, Mike Weber, Candy Murphy, Phuong Callaway, Stephanie Matonek, Bill Eisenrauch and Peter Knudson for their work in the successful implementation of this project.

On the Hill...

The Office of Government and Industry Affairs (GIA) is continuing development of written testimony for the House and Senate Appropriations 2006 Budget hearings. Additionally, GIA is preparing the 2004 modal accident CD-ROM report to be sent to Members of Congress. Copies of



the Academy Journal and 30-year We Are All Safer publication are also being provided to the Hill.

NTSB Announces 2004 Award Winners

The National Transportation Safety Board held its Annual Awards Ceremony in its Board Room and Conference Center on March 15th. The awards are given annually to Board employees whose contributions, performance and expertise greatly contribute to the mission of the NTSB. Congratulations to the winners of the 2004 Awards.

Chairman's Award David E. Bass, GC

Managing Director's Award Cheryl Blanchette, CFO Linda Harradine, RE

Joseph Trippe Nall Memorial Award Phillip Powell, AS (Atlanta, GA)

Dr. John K. Lauber Award

Matthew R. Fox, RE Brian K. Murphy, AS

Regional Employee Award Arnold W. Scott, Jr., AS (Denver, CO) Larry Yohe, HS (Denver, CO)

Distinguished Service Award for Administrative Support Yvette T. Delgado, ALJ **Daniel "Danny" Joseph Raskin Memorial Award** Pearl Morton, MD

Employee Peer Award

Larry Yohe, HS (Denver, CO)

Special Recognition Award

Abdullah K. Kakar, RE Alice Y. Park, RE Christy L. Spangler, RE Donald J. Chupp, ACD Yvette T. Delgado, ALJ Hector Casanova, AS (Arlington, TX) Carolyn D. Dargan, MD Nancy D. Mason, TDA Ruben Payan, RE Tawanna Terrell-Thomas, GA Nicholas S. Worrell, SR

Special thanks to **Barbara Bigelow**, **Greg Bird**, **Kim Butler Baylor**, **Pat Cariseo**, **Emily Carroll**, **Barbara Chriss**, **Barbara Czech**, **Carolyn Dargan**, **Antoin Downs**, **Brian Dennis**, **Lyn Donaldson**, **Chester Fischer**, **Pam Goins**, **Susan Gor**, **Vince Harris**, **Marquee Holmes**, **Elaine Jefferson**, **Gina John**, **Cindy Lepson**, **Kathy Lewis**, **Wendi Lindsey**, **Ted Lopatkiewicz**, **Lisa Love**, **Brian Moy**, **Colette Magwood**, **Cheryl McCullough**, **Pearl Morton**, **Keith O'Neill**, **Lhatoya Reed**, **Christy Spangler**, **Tawanna Terrell-Thomas**, **Lola Ward** and **Elaine Weinstein** who worked to make the 2004 NTSB Employee Awards Ceremony and the 30th Anniversary Commemoration a great event for all who attended.