





WESTERN ALASKA COMMUNITY **DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION**

October 5, 2007

Dr. Jim Balsiger, Regional Administrator NOAA Fisheries - Alaska Region P.O. Box 21668 Juneau, AK 99802-1668

Re: 0.7% Incidental Catch Allowance

Dear Jim:

The Western Alaska Community Development Association Board of Directors, serving in its capacity as the Community Development Quota (CDQ) Program Panel (16 U.S.C. 1855(i)(1)(G)) has reached agreement about how to allocate the seven-tenths of one percent that the Panel is authorized to allocate under section 305(i)(1)(C) of the Magnuson-Stevens Act (16 U.S.C. 1855(i)(1)(C)) to each of the six CDQ groups for the 2008 fishing seasons.

The allocations agreed upon unanimously by the CDQ Panel for 2008 are as follows:

		Atka Mack	РОР					BS
Group	P. Cod	(541,542,543)	(541,542,543)	Rock Sole	FH Sole	YF Sole	ARROW	G. Turbot
APICDA	21.638%	29.933%	29.975%	25.040%	20.771%	23.598%	22.000%	16.000%
BBEDC	19.838%	15.026%	15.010%	23.064%	22.375%	22.854%	22.000%	20.000%
CBSFA	7.930%	7.996%	7.996%	7.457%	7.005%	8.038%	9.000%	8.000%
CVRF	16.648%	15.026%	15.013%	10.060%	14.665%	11.406%	13.000%	17.000%
NSEDC	15.738%	14.026%	14.012%	10.390%	14.361%	11.388%	12.000%	19.000%
YDFDA	18.208%	17.993%	17.994%	23.989%	20.823%	22.716%	22.000%	20.000%
TOTAL	100.000%	100.000%	100.000%	100.000%	100.000%	100.000%	100.000%	100.000%

These 2008 allocations were unanimously agreed upon by a vote of the CDQ Panel at its regularly scheduled meeting August 16 and 17 in Anchorage. The minutes from that meeting provide the following explanation of the Panel's motion, which was made by APICDA/Cotter and seconded by **CBSFA/Thorpe:**

"...that the Panel approve an allocation of the ICA based on the model developed by the ICA Committee and presented to the Panel on March 19, 2007, with the exception that CBSFA receive an allocation of 7.93 percent and that the remaining five CDQ entities' allocations be reduced by equal shares to accommodate the increase for CBSFA for 2008 only."

CHEVAK EKHK AKUTAN ALAKANUK CLARKS POINT EKWOK OILUNGHAM FERA DIOMEDE BREVIG MISSION ÉEK EGEGIK GAMBEUL CHEFORNAK

EMMONIAK FALSE PASS

GOLOVIN KONGIGANAK KOTLIK GOODNEWS BAY GRAVENG KOYUK HOOPER BAY KWIGILINGOK KING SAEMON LEVELOCK KIPNUK MANOKOTAK

-more-MEKORYUK NEWTOK MOUNTAIN VILLAGE NIGHTMUTE NAKNEK NIKOLSKI NADAKIAK NOME NAPASKIAK NUNAM IQUA NELSON LAGOON OSCARVILLE

PILOT POINT PLATINUM PORT HEIDEN PORTAGE CREEK OHINHAGAK SAVOONGA

SCAMMON BAY STEBBINS SHAKTOOUK TELLER SOUTH NAKNEK TOGIAK TOKSOOK BAY ST GEORGE ST MICHAEL TUNTUTUBAK ST. PAUL ISLAND

TWIN HILLS LIGASHK WALES. WHITE MOUNTAIN

For 2009 and thereafter, the Panel therefore approves allocating the seven-tenths of one percent among the CDQ groups using the March 19, 2007 model and formula, but without the one-time 2008 adjustment for CBSFA. It is the intent of the Panel that the March 19, 2007 model and formula be used in all future years unless the Panel hereafter unanimously votes to change it. The Panel will submit the allocations for 2009 using the model/formula sometime during 2008 on a timeframe that is acceptable to NMFS, and similarly in each year thereafter.

Please contact Wanetta Ayers at the WACDA office if you have any questions regarding this matter or require any additional information.

Sincerely,

WESTERN ALASKA COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION

Larry Cotter, Chief Executive Officer Aleutian Pribilof Island Community Development Association

Robin Samuelsen, President/Chief Executive Officer Bristol Bay Economic Development Corporation

Phillip Kestenkof, President Central Bering/Sea Fishermen's Association

Morgen Crow, Executive Director Coastal Villages Region Fund

richieb

Eugene Asicksik, Chief Executive Officer Norton Sound Economic Development Corporation

William A. Charles, Chairman Yukon Delta Fisheries Development Association

Wanetta Ayers, Executive Director Western Alaska Community Development Association

 October 5, 2007

 Date

 October 5, 2007

 Date

October 5, 2007 Date