Skip Navigation

News Release

Friday, February 1, 2008

Contact: OPHS (Jennifer Koentop)
(202) 690-7694

HHS Secretary Leavitt Announces Members of the Secretary’s Advisory Committee On National Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Objectives for 2020

HHS Secretary Mike Leavitt today announced members of the advisory committee that will make recommendations for developing and implementing national health promotion and disease prevention objectives for Healthy People 2020. 

Since 1979, Healthy People has set and monitored national health objectives to meet a broad range of health needs, engage people across the nation to work together, guide individuals toward making informed health decisions, and measure the impact of prevention activity.

The program leverages scientific insights and lessons learned from the past decades, along with knowledge of current data, trends and innovations, to develop health promotion and disease prevention objectives for the coming decade.  Healthy People 2020 will reflect assessments of major risks to health and wellness, changing public health priorities, and emerging technologies related to our nation’s health.

“We are facing a growing epidemic of obesity and related chronic illnesses. The people we’ve invited to serve on this advisory committee will bring the best of the nation’s expertise to bear on the problem,” Secretary Leavitt said.  “I look forward to working with them to develop a vision, a goal, and a plan for improving our nation’s health by the year 2020.

The Secretary’s Advisory Committee on National Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Objectives for 2020 is holding its first meeting Jan. 31- Feb 1, 2008, in Washington, D.C.  The committee will survey the history of the Healthy People initiative and begin deliberations on the vision, mission, overarching goals, framework, and focus areas for Healthy People 2020.

Members of the Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Objectives for 2020 are:


Jonathan Fielding, M.D., MPH, MA, MBA, director public health and health officer, Los Angeles County; professor, schools of Public Health and Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles 


Shiriki Kumanyika, Ph.D., MPH, associate dean for health promotion and disease prevention, professor of epidemiology, Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia

Committee Members

W. Douglas Evans, Ph.D., vice president for public health and environment, RTI International, Washington, D.C.

Vincent Felitti, M.D., founding chairman, department of preventive medicine, Kaiser Permanente, San Diego; clinical professor of medicine, University of California, San Diego

Everold Hosein, Ph.D., communication advisor-consultant, World Health Organization Communicable Diseases Section, WHO Mediterranean Center for Vulnerability Reduction, WHO Geneva and Tunis; codirector and adjunct professor, Indiana University, Global Health Communication Research and Resources Center; coordinator, WHO/NYU Integrated Marketing Communication for Behavioural Impact Summer Institute; Carmel, Ind.;

Lisa Iezzoni, M.D., MSc., professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School; associate director, Institute for Health Policy, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston.

Abby King, Ph.D., professor, departments of health research and policy and medicine, Stanford Prevention Research Center, Stanford University School of Medicine; Stanford, Calif.

Ronald Manderscheid, Ph.D., director of mental health and substance use programs, Global Health Sector, SRA International; adjunct professor, Department of Mental Health, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University; Rockville, Md.

David O. Meltzer, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor, departments of Medicine and Economics, and School of Public Policy Studies, The University of Chicago.

Eva Moya, LMSW, tuberculosis division director, United States-Mexico Border Health Association; Advocacy Communication and Social Mobilization, Project Concern International; University of Texas at El Paso College of Health Sciences Interdisciplinary Health Sciences Ph.D.. Program Student; El Paso, Texas.

Patrick Remington, M.D., MPH, professor, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health; public health director, University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute; Madison.

David Siegel, M.D., MPH, assistant director, Health Care Operations and Programs, General Motors Health Services, Detroit.

Adewale Troutman, M.D., MPH, director, Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness; associate professor, School of Public Health and Information Sciences, University of Louisville; Louisville, Ky.

For more information about Healthy People 2020 visit:


Note: All HHS press releases, fact sheets and other press materials are available at

Last revised: February 06, 2008