North Atlantic Treaty

Washington; April 4, 1949 Done: Entry into force: August 24, 1949 In accordance with Article 11, the Treaty was subject to ratification by the signatories. The Treaty entered into force between the states which had ratified it as soon as the ratifications of a majority of the signatories, including the ratifications of Belgium, Canada, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and the United States were deposited with the Government of the United States of America. In accordance with Article 10 of the Treaty, the Parties may, by unanimous consent, invite any other European state in a position to further the principles of this Treaty and to contribute to the security of the North Atlantic area to accede to the Treaty. Any state so invited may become a party to the Treaty by depositing its instrument of accession with the Government of the United States of America.

Participant	Signature	Consent to be bound		Other Action	Notes
Belgium	April 4, 1949	June 16, 1949			
Bulgaria		March 29, 2004	a		
Canada	April 4, 1949	May 3, 1949			
Czech		March 12, 1999	a		
Republic					
Denmark	April 4, 1949	August 24, 1949			
Estonia		March 29, 2004	a		
France	April 4, 1949	August 24, 1949			
Germany		May 6, 1955	a		
Greece		February 18, 1952	a		
Hungary		March 12, 1999	a		
Iceland	April 4, 1949	August 1, 1949			
Italy	April 4, 1949	August 24, 1949			
Latvia		March 29, 2004	a		
Lithuania		March 29, 2004	a		
Luxembourg	April 4, 1949	June 27, 1949			
Netherlands	April 4, 1949	August 12, 1949			
Norway	April 4, 1949	July 8, 1949			
Poland	•	March 12, 1999	a		
Portugal	April 4, 1949	August 24, 1949			
Romania	•	March 29, 2004	a		
Slovak		March 29, 2004	a		
Republic					
Slovenia		March 29, 2004	a		
Spain		May 30, 1982	a		

Legend: (no mark) = ratification; \mathbf{a} = accession; \mathbf{w} = withdrawal or equivalent action

Turkey		February 18, 1952	a	
United	April 4, 1949	June 7, 1949		
Kingdom				
United States	April 4, 1949	July 25, 1949		