Honolulu, Hawaii

Fe 512, 2008

RE: H.B. No. 2516

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Fourth State Legislature Regular Session of 2008 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committees on Agriculture and Energy & Environmental Protection, to which was referred H.B. No. 2516 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO BIOSECURITY,"

beg leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this bill is to improve and enhance the infrastructure necessary to prevent the importation and spread of invasive species by:

- (1) Authorizing and appropriating \$5,000,000 in general obligation bond funds and appropriating \$5,000,000 in federal funds for the construction of joint biosecurity inspection facilities at Honolulu International Airport; and
- (2) Authorizing and appropriating \$1,500,000 in general obligation bond funds for planning and designing a joint biosecurity facility at Honolulu Harbor.

The Office of Hawaiian Affairs, Hawaii Farm Bureau Federation, Maui County Farm Bureau, Hawaii Agriculture Research Center, Hawaii Crop Improvement Association, The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii, Conservation Council for Hawaii, Coordinating Group on Alien Pest Species, and the Sierra Club, Hawaii Chapter, supported this bill. The Department of Agriculture and Department of Land and Natural Resources supported the intent of this measure. The Department of Transportation submitted comments.

HB2516 HSCR AGR-EEP HMS 2008-1879



As affirmed by the records of votes of the members of your Committees on Agriculture and Energy & Environmental Protection that are attached to this report, your Committees are in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2516 and recommend that it pass Second Reading and be referred to the Committee on Finance.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committees on Agriculture and Energy & Environmental Protection,

UPDATAL MODIFIA Charles

HERMINA MORITA, Chair

CLIFT TSUJI, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-fourth Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Agriculture

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 2516	Committee Referral: AGR/EEP, FIN	Date:	216/01	7			
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.							
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)							
AGR Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused			
1. TSUJI, Clift (C)							
2. BROWER, Tom (VC)							
3. BERG, Lyla B., Ph.D.							
4. CHANG, Jerry L.							
5. HANOHANO, Faye P.							
6. HERKES, Robert N.							
7. MANAHAN, Joey							
8. WAKAI, Glenn							
9. YAMANE, Ryan I.							
10. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				700			
11. CHING, Corinne W.L.							
12. MEYER, Colleen Rose							
		0					
TOTAL (12)	9	Ø	Ø	3			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, committee acronym(s) Not Adopted did not support recommendation.							
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:							
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office							

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-fourth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection

Bill/Resolution No.: #182516	Committee Referral: AGRIEEP, FIN	Dat	e: 2/6/09	3			
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.							
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)							
EEP Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused			
1. MORITA, Hermina M. (C)	1						
2. CARROLL, Mele (VC)	V						
3. ITO, Ken							
J. 110, Keil	V						
4. KARAMATSU, Jon Riki							
5. MAGAOAY, Michael Y.	✓						
6. SAGUM, Roland D., III							
o. SAGOM, Roland D., III							
7. SAIKI, Scott K.	1						
8. THIELEN, Cynthia							
The state of the s							
TOTAL (8)	8	0	0	0			
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, committee acronym(s) Not Adopted did not support recommendation.							
Vice Chair's or designee's signature: Mlle Camble							
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office							