To: Distribution

The IAEA has issued the formal announcement for the 22nd IAEA Fusion Energy Conference, which will be held in Geneva, Switzerland on October 12-18, 2008, and it is available on the IAEA Website: <u>http://www-pub.iaea.org/MTCD/Meetings/Announcements.asp?ConfID=165</u>

- The deadline for submission of the two-page extended synopses and the short abstracts to the U.S. Paper Selection Committee is February 8, 2008. Please e-mail them to <u>iaea.fec2008us@pppl.gov</u> before February 8, 2008, if possible. In parallel, please email the title, the list of authors, and the abstract to Steve Eckstrand (steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov) and John Mandrekas (john.mandrekas@science.doe.gov), also by COB February 8, 2008. Please refer to Annex A of the IAEA Announcement for Scientific Guidelines for Authors, and be sure to indicate the category and subtopic in which the paper should be considered.
- 2) The U.S. Paper Selection Committee will select the papers that will be forwarded to the IAEA. The Committee will meet in Germantown, MD on February 28, 2008. The members of the committee are: Stan Kaye, George McKee, Mickey Wade, Bruce Lipschultz, Rob Goldston, Pat Diamond, François Waelbroeck, Don Spong, Stan Milora, Chris Barnes, Ed Synakowski, Harry McLean, and Mike Brown.
- 3) The IAEA FEC2008 Programme Committee will meet in Vienna on April 21-25, 2008 to make the final selection of the papers for the conference. The U.S. members of the Programme Committee will be Stan Kaye, Pat Diamond, Chris Barnes, Mickey Wade, and Steve Eckstrand.

Please share this information with your colleagues at your institution and at other institutions. We will also put this information on the OFES webpage (http://www.ofes.fusion.doe.gov/FusionDocs.html Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions.

Best regards, Steve Eckstrand