A Celebration of High Temperature Plasma Physics Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory June 5-7, 2002 Program

Wednesday, June 5

Registration Lyman Spitzer Building Lobby 8:00 AM to 5 PM

- 9:00 AM Welcome and Opening Remarks Dr. Anne Davies, Associate SC Director for Fusion Energy Sciences, US DOE Professor Robert Goldston, Director, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
- 9:15 AM Plasma Science Research at PPPL Dr. Richard Hawryluk, Deputy Director, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
- 10:15 AM Break
- 10:30 AM Magnetic Reconnection Professor James Drake, University of Maryland
- 11:30 AM Plasma Boundary Professor Karl Lackner, European Fusion Development Agreement, Garching
- 12:30 PM Lunch (on own)

1:30 PM Solar Fusion and Solar Neutrinos Professor John Bahcall, Institute for Advanced Study

- 2:30 PM Waves in High Temperature Plasmas: A Perspective on 50 Years of Science and the Promise of Applications Professor Miklos Porkolab, Director, Plasma Science and Fusion Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- 3:30 PM Break
- 4:00 PM **Theory of Energetic Particles in Plasmas** Professor Herb Berk, The University of Texas at Austin, Institute for Fusion Studies
- 5:00 PM MHD Stability: From Basic Understanding to Active Control Professor Jerry Navratil, Columbia University
- 6:30 PM **Banquet At PPPL** (registered participants only) Dr. Raymond Orbach, DOE Office of Science Professor William Happer, Chair Princeton University Research Board

<u>Thursday, June 6</u>

Registration Lyman Spitzer Building Lobby 7:30 AM to 5 PM

- 8:00 AM Unsolved Plasma Problems in Astrophysics Professor Jeremy Goodman, Princeton University
- 9:00 AM Magnetic Activity of the Sun and Stars Professor Robert Rosner, Enrico Fermi Institute
- 10:00 AM Break
- 10:15 AM Basic Plasma Physics with Trapped Nonneutral Plasmas Professor Daniel Dubin, University of California at San Diego
- 11:15 AM IFE: Where It Came From, Where It Is Going Dr. Jill Dahlburg, Director, Division of Inertial Fusion Technology, General Atomics
- 12:15 PM Lunch (on own)
- 1:00 PM Accomplishments and Challenges in Computational Plasma Science Dr. William Tang, Chief Scientist, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
- 2:00 PM **Results of JT-60U and JFT-2M in collaboration with PPPL** Dr. Hiro Ninomiya, JAERI
- 3:00 PM **Reception At PPPL** Dr. Robert Card, DOE Under Secretary for Energy, Science and Environment
- 5:00 PM **Tour of PPPL**
- Friday, June 7 Registration Lyman Spitzer Building Lobby 8 AM to 10 AM
- 8:30 AM Energetic Particles Professor William Heidbrink, University of California, Irvine

9:30AM **Wendelstein Stellarators** Professor Friedrich Wagner, Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik

- Professor Friedrich wagner, Max-Planck-Institut für Plast
- 10:30 AM Break
- 10:45 AM **Future Directions in Fusion Plasma Science Research** Professor Robert Goldston, Director, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

Noon Concluding Remarks

Dr. Anne Davies, Associate SC Director for Fusion Energy Sciences, US DOE Professor Robert Goldston, Director, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory