|
The Library Without Walls has worked to locally mount bibliographic
citation databases and provide customized, consistent interfaces with value-added
features. This provides fewer interfaces for library users to learn
and improves user productivity.
Special functionality includes:
Linked holdings - active links to electronic content,
including
e-journals, reports, patents, and books
Alerts � Current awareness service via e-mail
Marking of records for batch printing or downloading
Filters for downloading to personal bibliographic software
such
as EndNote
Cited reference searching - in ISI Proceedings, ISI SciSearch
and ISI Social SciSearch
LinkSeeker - context-sensitive
linking
to additional content and services
FlashPoint, a multi-database
search
tool, debuted in April 2000 allowing simultaneous searching of our
locally
mounted databases. This offers users a single place to start their
literature
search. Simultaneous searching of databases external to the
library are further
being added.
SearchPlus,
an XML-based cross-database search system with many new features. Version 2
with this name was released March 2, 2004. Originally debuted in February 2003
as SciSearch® Plus.
Noteworthy in our database development distory:
SciSearch at LANL debuted in
September 1995,
the Library Without Wall's first project to go from pilot to
production.
In addition to searching by traditional methods such as author,
title,
and abstract words, cited reference searching is also available. A
known
paper is searched to identify more recent papers which cite the
earlier
work. This interface was later used create Social
SciSearch at LANL.
Z39.50 Gateway was developed to
provide
web access to databases previously loaded in a Geac Advance
integrated
library system accessible in a character-based telnet system. This
gateway
was used for BIOSIS®
at LANL, DOE
Energy Science and Technology at LANL, Engineering
Index®
at LANL, INSPEC®
at LANL, Nuclear
Science Abstracts and the library's online catalog.
Database Integration � We shifted the databases using the
Z39.50
Gateway to an interface similar to that developed for SciSearch at
LANL,
using Verity's Topic. This allowed for commonality of interface and
for
integrated retrieval capabilities. Alerts � Current awareness service via e-mail Alerts has
been
built into into all our LWW web databases.
Preprints -- A new e-Print
arXiv search interface, with additional capabilities, was
developed
as an alternative to the original arXiv.org
(formerly known as xxx). This new interface also integrated with
our formally
published literature citation databases, allowing researchers to
combine
the databases together to retrieve relevant publications and
pre-publications.
50 million records - In spring 2000 we reached a
milestone:
our library had in-house over 50 million records, for eleven
databases.
|
