March 4, 2005

Keith Klein, Manager U.S. Department of Energy, Richland Operations P.O. Box 550 (A7-50) Richland, WA 99352

Roy Schepens, Manager U.S. Department of Energy, Office of River Protection P.O. Box 450 (H6-60) Richland, WA 99352

Ron Kreizenbeck, Regional Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 10 1200 Sixth Avenue Seattle, WA 98101

Jay Manning, Director Washington State Department of Ecology P.O. Box 47600 Olympia, WA 98504-7600

Re: Proposed Amendment to the Record of Decision for the Environmental Restoration Disposal Facility

Dear Messrs. Klein, Schepens, Kreizenbeck, and Manning,

The Hanford Advisory Board (Board) commends the Tri-Party agencies on their efforts in identifying commonalities between Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) and Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) waste disposal requirements. These were demonstrated in the proposed amendment to the Record of Decision (ROD) for the Environmental Restoration Disposal Facility (ERDF). These efforts will go a long way toward optimizing Hanford disposal facilities while reducing previously duplicated administrative activities.

This kind of integrated process better serves the citizens of the Pacific Northwest and supports the Hanford cleanup goals.

The Board will have additional comments on the ERDF ROD amendment. They will be developed at the April Board meeting.

Sincerely,

Todd Martin, Chair Hanford Advisory Board

This letter represents HAB consensus for this specific topic. It should not be taken out of context to extrapolate Board agreement on other subject matters.

cc: Howard Gnann, Deputy Designated Federal Official, U.S Department of

Energy

Nick Ceto, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Michael Wilson, Washington State Department of Ecology Sandra Waisley, U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters

Site Specific Advisory Boards

The Oregon and Washington Congressional Delegations

U.S. Senators (OR)U.S. Senators (WA)Gordon H SmithMaria CantwellRon WydenPatty Murray

U.S. Representatives (OR)

Earl Blumenauer Greg Walden Peter DeFazio David Wu

Darlene Hooley

U.S. Representatives (WA)

Brian Baird Cathy McMorris
Norm Dicks Jim McDermott
Jay Inslee David Reichert
Richard Hastings Adam Smith

Rick Larsen

State Senators (WA) State Representatives (WA)

Jerome Delvin Larry Haler Mike Hewitt Shirley Hankins