September 5, 2003

Roy Schepens, Manager U. S Department of Energy, Office of River Protection P.O. Box 450 Richland, WA 99352

Re: Request for Extension of the Comment Period for the Retrieval, Treatment and Disposal of Tank Waste and Closure of Single-Shell Tanks Environmental Impact Statement

Dear Mr. Schepens,

The Hanford Advisory Board (Board) urges the Department of Energy-Office of River Protection (DOE-ORP) to extend the comment period for the Retrieval, Treatment and Disposal of Tank Waste and Closure of Single-Shell Tanks Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) to February 13, 2004 to allow the Board to provide official comments. This long extension is necessitated by the fact that the current comment period includes major holidays and is completely out of synch with the Board's truncated meeting schedule. Recognizing the length of this extension, the Board would welcome discussions with DOE-ORP on alternatives to an extension to allow adequate committee and Board review time. The decisions to be made based on the EIS are monumental, and of great regional concern. It is vital for the public to receive the benefit of agency, Board, and stakeholder review.

Sincerely,

Todd Martin, Chair Hanford Advisory Board

*This letter represents HAB consensus for this specific topic. It should not be taken out of context to extrapolate Board agreement on other subject matters.* 

 cc: Keith Klein, Manager, U.S. Department of Energy- Richland Operations John Iani, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 10 Tom Fitzsimmons, Washington State Department of Ecology Marla Marvin, Deputy Designated Federal Official, U.S Department of Energy Michael Gearheard, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Michael Wilson, Washington State Department of Ecology Sandra Waisley, U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters Site Specific Advisory Boards The Oregon and Washington Congressional Delegations

<u>U.S. Senators (OR)</u> Gordon H Smith Ron Wyden

<u>U.S. Senators (WA)</u> Maria Cantwell Patty Murray

<u>U.S. Representatives (OR)</u> Earl Blumenauer Peter DeFazio Darlene Hooley Greg Walden David Wu

<u>U.S. Representatives (WA)</u> Norm Dicks Jennifer Dunn Richard Hastings George Nethercutt

<u>State Senators (WA)</u> Pat Hale Mike Hewitt

<u>State Representatives (WA)</u> Jerome Delvin Shirley Hankins