April 4, 2003

Keith Klein, Manager U.S. Department of Energy, Richland Operations P.O. Box 550 (A7-50) Richland, WA 99352

Roy Schepens, Manager U. S Department of Energy, Office of River Protection P.O. Box 450 Richland, WA 99352

Subject: Draft Hanford Solid Waste Environmental Impact Statement Comment Period

Dear Messrs. Klein and Schepens,

The Hanford Advisory Board (Board) urges the Department of Energy (DOE) to extend the comment period for the Hanford Solid Waste EIS by 30 days and begin the hearings after May 15. This will ensure adequate time for public and agency review of and commentary on the EIS draft. The decisions to be made based on the EIS are monumental (e.g. disposal of onsite and offsite waste for 40 years) and of great regional concern. For example, public concern last year was so high that there were overflow audiences and a second hearing had to be held in Portland. It is vital for the public to receive the benefit of agency, Board, and stakeholder review, and for there to be adequate time for the public to receive and consider summaries of these reviews to be able to offer informed comment.

Sincerely,

Todd Martin, Chair Hanford Advisory Board

This letter represents HAB consensus for this specific topic. It should not be taken out of context to extrapolate Board agreement on other subject matters.

cc: Jessie Roberson, Assistant Secretary of Energy, U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters

Bob Card, Under-Secretary of Energy, U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters

John Iani, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 10 Tom Fitzsimmons, Washington State Department of Ecology Marla Marvin, Deputy Designated Federal Official, U.S. Department of Energy

Michael Gearheard, Environmental Protection Agency Michael Wilson, Washington State Department of Ecology Sandra Waisley, U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters The Oregon and Washington Congressional Delegations

U.S. Senators (OR)

Gordon H Smith Ron Wyden

U.S. Senators (WA)

Maria Cantwell
Patty Murray

U.S. Representatives (OR)

Earl Blumenauer Peter DeFazio Darlene Hooley Greg Walden

U.S. Representatives (WA)

Norm Dicks Jennifer Dunn Richard Hastings George Nethercutt

State Senators (WA)

Pat Hale Mike Hewitt

State Representatives (WA)

Jerome Delvin Shirley Hankins