February 7, 2003

Keith Klein, Manager U.S. Department of Energy, Richland Operations P.O. Box 550 (A7-50) Richland, WA 99352

Tom Fitzsimmons, Director Washington State Department of Ecology P.O. Box 47600 Olympia, WA 98504-7600

John Iani, Regional Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 10 1200 Sixth Avenue Seattle, WA 98101

Re: K Basins Achievement

Dear Mssrs. Klein, Fitzsimmons, and Iani,

The Hanford Advisory Board congratulates the Tri-Party Agencies on the completion of a key Hanford cleanup milestone, the removal of 975 metric tons of spent fuel from the K Basins. The Board has a long history of advice on spent fuel issues. Throughout the mid 1990's the Board's advice urged the agencies to make the spent fuel project a top priority – at one point advocating increases in spent fuel funding by re-directing funding from other important cleanup activities.

Ensuring the protection of the Columbia River has always been one of the Hanford Advisory Board's fundamental goals, so it is clear why we have watched the Spent Nuclear Fuel project so carefully. Removing the fuel from its precarious position so close to the river's edge and into safe, long-term storage in the Canister Storage Building is one of the most tangible acts of environmental protection at Hanford today. To have successfully made it to the halfway mark – with more than 25 million curies of radioactivity now in safe storage – is a great achievement.

The Board is pleased to see years of stakeholder, DOE, regulator and contractor effort result in real cleanup progress. This milestone is a great success for the entire Hanford community and we hope you pass our congratulations and gratitude on to all the contributing agency, regulator, and contractor personnel.

Sincerely,

Todd Martin, Chair Hanford Advisory Board

This letter represents HAB consensus for this specific topic. It should not be taken out of context to extrapolate Board agreement on other subject matters.

cc: Wade Ballard, Deputy Designated Federal Official, U.S. Department of Energy

Steve Veitenheimer, U.S. Department of Energy, Richland Operations

Michael Gearheard, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Michael Wilson, Washington State Department of Ecology

Martha Crossland, U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters

Doug Sherwood

Dick Belsey

Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board

Site Specific Advisory Boards

The Oregon and Washington Congressional Delegations

U.S. Senators (OR)

Gordon H Smith

Ron Wyden

U.S. Senators (WA)

Maria Cantwell

Patty Murray

U.S. Representatives (OR)

Earl Blumenauer

Peter DeFazio

Darlene Hooley

Greg Walden

David Wu

U.S. Representatives (WA)

Norm Dicks

Jennifer Dunn

Richard Hastings George Nethercutt

State Senators (WA)
Pat Hale
Mike Hewitt

State Representatives (WA) Jerome Delvin Shirley Hankins