

U.S. Department of Energy Hanford Site

MAY 27 2004

04-ORP-039

Mr. Todd Martin, Chair Hanford Advisory Board 1933 Jadwin Avenue, Suite 135 Richland, Washington 99352

Dear Mr. Martin:

HANFORD ADVISORY BOARD (HAB) ADVICE #156 – SITE TECHNOLOGY COORDINATION GROUP

Reference: HAB letter from T. Martin, HAB to R. Schepens, ORP Manager, and K. Klein, RL Manager, "Site Technology Coordination Group," dated April 2, 2004.

This letter is in response to HAB Consensus Advice #156, requesting the creation of an ongoing forum focused on science and technology needs for cleanup.

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) agrees that stakeholders, the HAB, and other interested parties should remain apprised of science and technology developments to address near and long-term cleanup challenges at the Hanford Site. Further, those technologies are best discussed in the context of the programs or projects they will ultimately support. DOE believes it is most pragmatic to continue science and technology discussions as part of ongoing interactions with the HAB's Tank Waste and River & Plateau committees.

DOE is prepared to work with the HAB to better integrate timely science and technology information into the process for planning and developing Tank Waste and River & Plateau committee meetings. We appreciate the HAB's interest and involvement in science and technology needs, and we look forward to working with the HAB within the current committee structure to improve stakeholder access to information and decision making regarding this important subject.

If you have any questions, please contact me, or you may contact Erik Olds, DOE Office of River Protection (509) 372-8656.

Roy J. Schepens, Manager
Office of River Protection

Keith A. Klein, Manager Richland Operations Office

ORP:TEO

cc: R. Orback, Director of Science, DOE-HQ

Bus EMRLU G

S. Waisley, DOE-HQ

L. Hoffman, Ecology

M. Wilson, Ecology

M. Gearheard, EPA

J. Iani, EPA

The Oregon and Washington

Congressional Delegations

State Representatives (WA)

Gordon H. Smith

Ron Wyden

U.S. Senators (WA)

Maria Cantwell

Patty Murray

U.S. Senators (OR)

Earl Blumenauer

Peter DeFazio

Darlene Hooley

Greg Walden

David Wu

U.S. Representatives (WA)

Brian Baird

Jay Inslee

Norm Dicks

Jim McDermott

Jennifer Dunn

George Nethercutt

Richard Hastings

Adam Smith

StateSenators (WA)

Pate Hale

Mike Hewitt

U.S. Senators (OR)

Jerome Delvin

Shirley Hankins