June 4, 2004

Roy Schepens, Manager U.S. Department of Energy, Office of River Protection P.O. Box 450 Richland, WA 99352

Linda Hoffman, Director Washington State Department of Ecology P.O. Box 47600 Olympia, WA 98504-7600

Re: Tank Closure EIS Alternatives

Dear Mr. Schepens and Ms. Hoffman,

The Department of Energy-Office of River Protection (DOE-ORP) took comment on the scope of the Tank Closure Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) in early 2002. DOE-ORP recently shared the scope and outline of alternatives under consideration with the Hanford Advisory Board's (Board) committees. DOE-ORP hopes to issue the draft EIS in September for comment.

The Board wishes to register its strong concern that no alternative in the scope of the EIS is compliant with the Tri-Party Agreement (TPA). DOE-ORP's proposed suite of alternatives includes only one alternative that meets the TPA treatment standard of vitrifying all the wastes (after retrieval of 99% or better). All other alternatives in the EIS use additional treatment technologies and/or are not based on retrieving and treating all wastes by 2028. The Board advises DOE-ORP that the EIS should analyze at least one alternative that complies with the TPA requirements for treatment and removal of tank wastes by 2028.

The baseline assumptions used for alternatives in this EIS, and others, should be in compliance with the TPA and other relevant legal requirements.

Sincerely,

Todd Martin, Chair Hanford Advisory Board

This advice represents HAB consensus for this specific topic. It should not be taken out of context to extrapolate Board agreement on other subject matters.

HAB Consensus Advice #164 Subject: Tank Closure EIS Alternatives Adopted: June 4, 2004

Page 1

cc: Keith Klein, Manager, U.S Department of Energy, Richland Operations John Iani, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 10 Howard Gnann, Deputy Designated Federal Official, U.S. Department of Energy

Michael Gearheard, Environmental Protection Agency Michael Wilson, Washington State Department of Ecology Sandra Waisley, U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters The Oregon and Washington Congressional Delegations

<u>U.S. Senators (OR)</u>

Gordon H Smith

Ron Wyden

U.S. Senators (WA)

Maria Cantwell

Patty Murray

U.S. Representatives (OR)

Earl Blumenauer

Peter DeFazio

Darlene Hooley

Greg Walden

David Wu

U.S. Representatives (WA)

Brian Baird

Norm Dicks

Jennifer Dunn

Jay Inslee

Richard Hastings

Rick Larsen

Jim McDermott

George Nethercutt

Adam Smith

State Senators (WA)

Pat Hale

Mike Hewitt

State Representatives (WA)

Jerome Delvin **Shirley Hankins**